curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

99% done! Now let's sing some carols....

Well the ball is definitely rolling downhill now eh? Life seems to be on fast forward right now but that's how it usually is a few days before Christmas. I have stopped being bitter about having to work over Christmas. It's all about attitude. I leave work Tuesday at noon and then will have a couple days with my family and return home Thursday to work for Friday. There are worse things. It doesn't hurt that I booked myself a massage for after work this Monday AND next Monday!

I am ALL done my (our) shopping. Okay I have ONE more gift that is out of stock (it's a book for Keith). The store thought they would get it in before x-mas but who knows - I am on a list. I'm not gonna panic though. If he gets it after x-mas then oh well. I'm lucky he's easy going like that.

I plan on wrapping Keith's gifts this afternoon and then that will be that all the gifts will be wrapped and ready to go! My plans for tonight are up in the air and you know how I feel about that. A friend of T's is having her annual x-mas party. T and her guy offered to give us a drive as one of them has to be the dd so they can go home at the end of the night to their little girl. But the weather has decided to create havoc. We're expecting freezing rain and last I checked it was due to start at 5pm. So I sit in limbo. Do I plan an outfit? Do I wrap the secret santa gift? Ugh. If T cancels then I don't imagine Keith and I will go. I am friendly with these people but I don't know. We'll see how it plays out. But I'm shaking my fist at you weather!!

------------------

Alright so it's about time I wrote a Christmas entry that I planned at the beginning of the month! I'm going to start with my favourite Christmas songs of all time.

1. Mary's Boy Child - Boney M.
I had no idea who sang this song for years. In fact I remember one of the first times I heard the song was at a Christmas concert at a church my older brother was in. For some reason he started going to the Pentecostal church (we went to the Protestant one). I loved that song then and I love it now.

2. Feliz Navidad - Jose Feliciano
I have no idea what this song is about or what he is saying and I only sing the chorus nice and loud like everyone else I am sure

3. Make it Christmas Day - Jann Arden
This song has only become a favourite for the last few years but it is beautiful and Jann has an awesome voice.

4. Mary Did you Know -Kenny Rogers & Wyonna Judd
This song gives me chills and I can and have listen to it over and over. But only by these two. Other versions are nice but....just not the same.

5. This is the time - Michael Bolton and Wynonna Judd
Okay so this isn't a popular song and only a Michael fan will know it but it is one of my all time favourite songs. It's been out since 1996 and I listen to it all year round.

I could go on I'm sure about my favourite Christmas songs because really I love them all. I love the song from the Grinch, Where are you Christmas sung by both Faith Hill and the little girl in the movie. I love the song All I want for Christmas is You by the young girl in Love Actually. See? I could keep going on like this. I also love the Christmas songs like Silent Night, The First Noel and Away in a Manger. Embarrassingly I remember sitting in my room as a young teen with a hymn book and flipping through the pages and singing Christmas Carols by myself in my room. I loved them. I still do. One of my favourite parts of the Christmas Eve service at my dad's church is at the end everyone gets a candle (now it's a battery powered one as we don't want to burn the building down) and everyone is singing Silent Night and when the piano stops to let just the voices carry and the lights are off and only the glow of the candles can be seen it is just one of the most amazing moments I can think of. I tear up while singing it and I'm tearing up now just thinking about it!

That was fun!

10:43 a.m. - 2013-12-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

barefootruby
hitch-hike
dulligirl
fullmoon
looniebin
take-two
catsoul
In 19 Seconds
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
haloaskew
neko-carre
razor-vixen