curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

April is my fool

I waited until noon to email my boss and say I was leaving work for the day due to not feeling good - I didn't want her thinking I was pulling an april fool's day joke! But it was no joke. I woke up with the intention of not going into work but talked myself into it by giving myself an out of leaving at noon if I still didn't feel good.

It wasn't that I felt bad per se, I had a headache and felt a bit spacy probably due to lack of sleep which always affects my stomach. If it wasn't for the 3 hours of phones I have in the afternoons I may have pushed myself to stay - but mentally I was not prepared to stay and torture myself like that.

I even had a decent weekend....for the most part. I was off Friday so I did the gym thing then that evening book club then over to my neighbours for a night cap and stumbled into bed at 2am. Every. Time. I woke up Saturday a few minutes before Keith got home from work and it was rainy and crappy out but surprisingly he wanted to go out. We need curtains for all the windows so we made a day of it. Our last stop was one of our favourite antique ware houses that we found out is closing after 17 years. May is their final month. We're pretty bummed. Sat eve I was in bed by 9 reading while Keith slept but lights out was by 10 - we are such party animals! But we were then up at like 7 on a Sunday which is not cool.

We had breakfast and watched the recorded Survivor and then after my 4th cup of coffee I finally began to clean and we hung the blinds and curtains in the spare room - which Keith sleeps in 5 nights of the week. We tried to hang some in the master but I didn't look at the size only the cute pattern when we picked them out so they were way too small. Also the rod was the wrong size but we bought that at a store that doesn't take returns so Keith said he would 'make it work'. But first I have to return the curtains and get new ones - probably next weekend.

Around 2 Keith got a call from his sister. Their dad is in the hospital. He is not doing good. He was back to drinking - a lot - and started falling in the retirement home. They had to admit him and he also has memory loss and other issues. We were invited over for dinner that evening to talk about their dad so we quickly showered and headed out since they are an hour away. We had a good talk and they reviewed the will as his sister had questions about making medical decisions. After dinner we headed over to the hospital. I did most of the talking - and I kept asking him questions - what hospital he was in and did he know what month it was etc. He did pretty good but then he would start talking about having to call work. He also wanted to get dressed and leave. It was sad. I tried my best to convince him he had to stay to get better so he wouldn't fall - he can't walk unassisted - even with a walker - he's only 66 I believe.

It was getting late so we had to take our leave and head home. We got home around 8:30 and Keith went straight to bed. I watched some recorded shows and then tried to head to bed and slept fitfully.

I did start feeling better once I came home from work and just rested for a bit. I had some soup for lunch then I was feeling pretty good so I convinced myself to go to the gym. I had already missed 2 days in a row and I know once I miss 2 days it's just a slippery slope. So I went and worked out for about an hour and felt much better for doing so. I came back and spent a couple hours trying to pick up where I left off the day before with the cleaning, organizing and de-cluttering. I was so in the zone Sunday! I did ok until it was dinner time. But now I am going to call it a night. I have a load of laundry in - my 3rd so I was productive that way.

It's a short week again this week - all of April has short weeks for me so I need to make sure I appreciate this! Okay off to drink some water and get ready for bed (I'm pretty sure I haven't drank water in the last 3 days so that probably doesn't help with the crappiness).

Now if the weather could only co-operate and realize it's Spring that would be great!

9:07 p.m. - 2019-04-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mistfree
igotsprung
happyone
barefootruby
hitch-hike
dulligirl
In 19 Seconds
fullmoon
looniebin
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen