curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The best time ever!

Is it just me? Do I under exaggerate or do people over exagerate? And how the hell do you spell exagerate? One g or 2 g's? I don't know. Don't really care. It's Monday. Back to my ranting. I don't know. It just seems that when I talk to people over phone, email etc. it seems that whatever they did they 'had the best time ever!'. Not an okay time or yah it was cool but 'the best time'. Maybe my expectations are to high. Maybe I don't have the 'best time ever' I don't know. Even reading other people's journals their weekends were 'the best..the greatest..amazing' well you get the picture. Take for example this weekend for me. On Saturday I went and saw Great Big Sea and got to be 2nd row from the stage. It was amazing. I had a great time, I love their music. But...I don't know. It wasn't the 'best time ever'. Maybe I don't like to go on and on about things I did. It feels like I'm in competition with other people when we're talking about our weekends. "Oh yah, well I did this.." "Yah well I did this AND this!". I'm just not one for bragging. Even when I met Michael Bolton (my all time fave) and got a picture with him. I didn't walk around bragging about how great it was and how it was 'the best time ever'. And have you ever noticed that if there's a group outing with your friends and for some strange reason you don't make it then they..say it with me..."had the best time ever". But man if you went then it was "an okay time". Not the best time ever. I had friends like this. Everything they did was amazing. They always had the best time. But when I went out with them most times I was bored to tears. Maybe we just have a different outlook on things. But this couple was also known to brag about everything. So I'm quite confident I wasn't missing out on a whole lot. Same with my current friends. I'm sure when I miss out on going to the gay pride parade in T.O. and they had the 'best time ever' that really I didn't miss out on all that much. I'm not sure why people feel the need to tell people how great a time they had - even going to the movies! I'm not sure why I'm writing about this. A pet peeve I guess. A large one by my rant!

So today J is in Toronto trying to meet Dave Grohl from the Foo Fighters. He just called. He's going to hang out at the Edge where they'll be doing an interview before they play at Much Music. He was going to try for a wrist band but he'd rather stand beside them while they get interviewed. Whatever. I just hope he meets them. But I'm sure it will be the 'best time ever' regardless. Okay that one was uncalled for. J doesn't do that. Even when I just spoke to him he told me he was kinda bored but doing okay. It wasn't the 'best time ever'. I have a real problem with this don't I? I gotta learn to simmer down over this.

Damn! I just realized I forgot my debit card at home. I never have cash. That's why my bank charges are out the roof. Keeping my account over a thousand in order to not get any charges just doesn't happen for me anymore. I will really try this November but I doubt it will happen. I was going to go to Sears Outlet and look at coats again - yah I like to torture myself. But they're always getting new stuff, so ya never know. I decided today I need a Fall coat. I have summer, spring and winter ones but no Fall. I have sweater coats but Fall calls for something a little more. Well I better eat my lunch so I can head out of here on my 'lunch hour'. Maybe I'll have the 'best time ever' looking for coats at lunch! Yay me.

12:33 p.m. - 2002-10-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen