curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Go jump in a lake eh

We're holding a dinner party on Friday for my parents and T and her guy. We have tons to do - clean the house good and proper, plan the meal etc. Oh and my parents are staying over the night so we have to spruce up the spare room. Yesterday our huge brand new (less than 6 months) bathroom vanity fell off the wall - thankfully it didn't break (no idea how that happened) but we now have to reinforce the wall to hang it again.

Today I called in sick. It was going to be HOT out. We're talking in the 40's with humidity (that's Canadian eh).

Did we stay home and clean and build things? Hell no we went to the BEACH! We spent the whole day sunning ourselves and dipping into the pretty damn cold water aaaaaall day! The water was cold but you really did get used to it and by the end of the day I was even swimming instead of dunking, shrieking and running out!

So yah we got NUTHIN' done for our company this Friday and will have a crap load to do the next 2 days but we had a damn good day! Oh and we were nice and cheap about it! Frugal I like to call it!

Now it's bed cause I really have to get up for work tomorrow. And go in with my sun-kissed face. Oops.

Not to end on a downer but this past weekend I saw my grandma. She turned 86 I believe. She mostly sat in her chair while the rest of us chatted away but every time I looked at her she would have this grin on her face and I knew she was loving having us there. My mom brought dinner and a cake and afterwards we gave her our presents. She kept exclaiming over how much she loved the gifts. Then we had to leave so we all started saying goodbye to her and my uncle.

She called my uncle over and was trying to hand him her gift bags. He asked her why and she asked him to carry them for her cause everyone was leaving - including them.

My uncle reminded her that they lived there and were staying.

She didn't pause a moment but said she knew that - she was just joking. She repeated that a couple times. It about damn near broke my heart. I went and gave her as big a hug as I knew her fragile body could handle. I told her how much I loved her and with a lump sitting in my throat we piled back into the van and headed home.

10:35 p.m. - 2011-05-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen