curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Remembering V

I just got back from a walk to the store. As I washed up after my walk I looked at myself in the mirror my eyes not only looked tired but sad. I was looking forward to going to the basement putting on a chick flick and wrapping up in a blanket on my couch. I had wanted to write an entry but suddenly the thought of dragging my laptop downstairs and turning it on seemed like this huge ordeal. I stopped in my tracks, my 'ordeal' suddenly seemed like a joke. I had started an entry earlier today but in haste deleted it before I left work.

A woman who's blog I had followed for the last several years had succumbed to cancer. Her blog had remained silent for the last month or so. In the pit of my stomach I knew this was a bad sign. Today I checked her site for an update to find an entry from a friend giving the news. It was all I could do not to cry at work. How do you explain that? How do you explain that a girl you never met, yet who's words had stirred you and made you laugh and inspired you left the world? I managed to hold it together but suddenly the world seemed a little more dim. My bubbly "My Friday" attitude was shut down abruptly.

Tonight while flipping through channels I came across one of the few episodes of how I met your mother that makes me cry. Marshall runs outside to call his dad to tell him the good fertility news and Lily shows up in a cab - her face is distraught, she begins to cry as she tells him the news about his dad. The scene kills me every time. I always cry along. Tonight I found myself sobbing. I wasn't fooling myself, I knew why I was crying. Cancer is a bitch.

It's time for that movie.

8:56 p.m. - 2012-05-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen