curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

R.I.P. B-dad (and 2013!)

Ah yes we are on the final countdown for 2013. I will not miss this year.

I am in a much better head space right now. I spoke to my mom last night. They made it to NS in horrible weather apparently. Good thing they took the truck. More money in gas but much safer. My mom�s voice was all but gone so I am now going to assume she had some kind of virus that played with her stomach quite harshly and then moved on to be more like the common cold.

I have a massage after work. I debated cancelling cause I guess it�s not a good thing to go when you are sick � in case you affect your masseuse. But I am going since I deem myself beyond the contagious phase. I ran home at lunch to grab my cold medication in case my nose started to run or am congested and Keith sounds worse than me and he�s had it for much longer. Poor guy. I�m not sure why he isn�t getting better?

We leave tomorrow, after I get off work at 3, to my brother and sil�s house. They live about 3 hours away � maybe 3.5. But guaranteed traffic is not going to be fun. I almost didn�t get to leave early as the girl who volunteered (lowest seniority) will be off for the rest of the week due to a death in the family ( a grandmother who lives in another country) but I�m not saying a word. I don�t need bad karma on me right now! I am just going to be grateful that another co-worker kindly offered to stay til closing.

Oh so we didn�t go to Keith�s family on Saturday. We called Friday and found out whoops it�s on Sunday! We both had the day wrong. It was just as well cause when I woke up Saturday I had the head cold from hell and felt horrible. I took almost a 2 hour nap that afternoon and felt good enough to go out for a bit then the rest of the day and night was spent curled up on the couch.

Sunday was chaos at Keith�s family � with 4 little ones and a 9 year old running around. It was very loud as one of their favourite things to do was all run around the kitchen table�..over and over and over. The parents didn�t care as the kids were getting their energy out but yowza good thing I was on cold tablets or else my head might have split open. Our White Elephant game went quite well. I ended up with the gift I stole from someone and was happy it didn�t get taken away again. Keith also ended up with his stolen gift so he was pleased as well.

On the drive home he asked if I saw his mom give him a letter I said no. She apparently keeps in touch with his biological dad�s ex-wife (complicated much). And I guess on a side note � blurb � on page 2 of the letter she state�s that Keith�s dad had passed away. Now this is hard to navigate because him and I are vastly different when it comes to family and emotions. He had little contact with his b-dad and the last time he remembers seeing him was at age 13 I believe in which case his dad moved and started a new family. I try and ask questions to understand how Keith feels about it but my man is a hard one to understand. He says he was okay with it and that his dad now did officially adopt him thus he has the same last name (if I could only tell you how great the b-dad�s last name was and how torturous our current last name is!). But I know he�s got to be going through some conflicting emotions about it � doesn�t he? He did say he can now stop typing his dad�s name into FB. He said every once in a while he�d type his name in to see if he was on fb. That tells me that he isn�t as unaffected as he let�s me think. I guess all I can do is be there for him in case he wants to talk about it. When I saw him at lunch I told him about my co-worker above who will be off then he told me that I could probably be off too since I would get bereavement time for my father-in-law. It took me a moment because I don�t ever think of his b-dad and for a heart stopping minute I thought he was telling me that his adopted dad had died!

So I sign off as usual. When is 2013 over again?

9:25 p.m. - 2013-12-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

barefootruby
hitch-hike
dulligirl
fullmoon
looniebin
take-two
catsoul
In 19 Seconds
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
haloaskew
neko-carre
razor-vixen