curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Limpin' along blue Monday

Hm it’s pretty quiet on this site lately – not good. Of course I am one to talk.

So Blue Monday. Most depressing day of the year or some such nonsense. Every Monday is Blue Monday as far as I am concerned. Getting up on Mondays is painful. I do it to myself though by sleeping in and going to bed later on the weekend. Last night I was up til the wee hours of the morning reading a paper journal my grandfather wrote. My dad loaned it to me, they found it while cleaning out my grandma’s apartment when she passed away. The journal is from 1969. Before I was born. Before my parents had any kids.

The journal is not exciting but I still find it intriguing. I see the similarities between him and I. He would write the date in red pen along with what the weather was like then he would continue the entry in another colour pen. He even once wrote about how he was running out of one of the colours and how he’d have to change pens. I had to laugh cause that is something I relate to. His penmanship is chicken scratch so deciphering it can be a little tricky.

It was a tough year that he wrote about. You can tell that money was tight and he was taking odd jobs to stay afloat. He wrote about my parents visiting them for 2 weeks and it was funny because I didn’t really get that he was that excited they were there – I mean I could tell he was happy but he wrote more factual and it seemed he visited with them the least or did things with them the least but then on the day they left to return home the emotion came through about how much it meant to him to have them there and how my dad spoke about wanting to move back in a year or so and my grandfather talked about how he would start searching for cheap houses for him and my mom. It made me cry.

I realized today that my dad did move back albeit a few years later than he wanted – I was one years old so it was 1975 but my grandpa was still alive so I hope it made him happy to have his son and family back. My grandpa would pass away 6 years later I believe. I didn’t know him all that well and most of my memories are more impressions of the man he was. He was really tall and slender and near the end fragile. But he was a gentle man. I’m not sure where I’m going with this I just felt the need to write about it.

-----------------------

So I wanted to walk tonight but my husband talked me out of it. I got a wee foot problem that many are familiar with - plantar fasciitis. Okay I self diagnosed myself but I've had it before a long time ago. Tonight I finally found my inserts that fit my shoes and I am wearing them in my sneakers around the house tonight. They kill but feel good at the same time. I plan on doing stretches for the next few days and hope that my foot feels better soon!

So instead I will do a load of laundry and go to bed early tonight!

Oh on Wednesday our new couch is getting delivered! It will be nice to sit on a couch and not feel broken when you go to stand up! What's also awesome is that we already paid for our couch up front - no monthly payments!

7:18 p.m. - 2015-01-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

igotsprung
happyone
hitch-hike
In 19 Seconds
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
kungfukitten
barefootruby
haloaskew
catsoul
neko-carre
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen