curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Auld Lang Syne

First post of 2018. I don't think I've ever had a more mixed emotions X-mas. The gathering with Keith's family went over way better than I had anticipated. The 9 kids running around kept everybody from becoming melancholy or overcome with the absence of the matriarch. There were moments throughout the day when you could see someone become emotional as they looked around and could feel the absence of Keith's mom. Keith's dad became emotional many times. When we all left that evening we gave extra long hugs and held on a little tighter to each other than usual.

The next day Keith and I headed to my side of the family. We made the x-mas eve service it was in a church that we've never attended on x-mas eve before. It made me really miss the xmas eve candle light service my dad used to have. At one point during the service I nearly began to cry and had to force myself to pull it together. The sweetness of x-mas music and the emotions running thru me made me a hot mess. Somehow I pulled myself together and just held on to Keith's hand a little tighter. He has yet to cry in front of me but he has been super quiet on car rides. I can't even imagine what he is going through so all I can do is be there for him.

For NYE we went over to my neighbours. It was a festive night. Although right as Keith and I were heading over I told him that it felt a bit odd heading over to bring in the new year with people who weren't our closest friends or family. It was us and 3 other couples and 5 kids. We had a delicious fondue - cooking our meat in broth and a cheese one that we dipped veggies and bread etc in to. Afterwards we gathered in their basement and around 11:45 went on you tube as they don't have cable to find the countdown. The times square one looked a little lame from what I could tell. We did the countdown and hugged and kissed. One of the couples left a few minutes after that for another party. The rest of us adults decided to play a game I can't remember the name right now but man oh man I can't remember the last time I laughed so hard! You were dealt 7 cards with sayings (adults only game!) then shown a picture and you had to submit one of your cards as a caption. Did I mention adults only? At one point one of the kids kept coming downstairs and we were in tears from laughter and her mom had to keep chasing her off cause little ears could not hear this stuff! At 3am we finally called it a night and stumbled across the street and straight into bed.

It would have been nice to relax and spend the day at home and start on the disaster that is our house but alas we told Keith's dad we would come visit. He is so lonely and desperate for company. Also the pipes have frozen in the house and Keith wanted to try and help so he was bringing some stuff. We left around noon and Keith was super cranky from lack of sleep and probably just from the reality that is life.

Tomorrow it is back to work for both of us. Back to day to day life. Back to wearing work casual clothes rather than jeans (boo) as I did for the whole of December. I am thankful it is a 3 day week for me. Friday I am off. I plan to use it to put away all of x-mas. I also have to get back into the gym this week. Me and the million other people this time of year!

I didn't make any new years resolutions this year. I think I'm just going to concentrate on appreciating and spending time with the people in my life. I'm going to put my health at the top of my priority list. Physical and mental. I let myself get too stressed out with my work and I just have to learn to handle it more efficiently.

Alright my mind has lost focus. Time to get ready for work tomorrow.

9:04 p.m. - 2018-01-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mistfree
igotsprung
happyone
barefootruby
hitch-hike
dulligirl
In 19 Seconds
fullmoon
looniebin
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen