curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I no longer scream for ice cream....

A quick wrap up for old business. I posted my last entry - and was just fitzing around when there was a knock at the door - my neighbour came over around 9pm to tell me they were starting the chocolate fondue part of their evening and to come on over. I gave her my regrets and called it a night. A little guilty but I felt ok with my decision. Maybe next year actually invite me for real yah?

The next morning Keith and I did head out and made it in perfect time at my dad's church. We listened to the accordian band and then had a catered dinner from the church ladies. My parents paid for my tix so I'm not sure how much this all cost but it was a very nice evening. I sat with Keith, my older brother and his wife, my two nephews and my other sil. We would have sat my younger brother except a "friend" of my sil took his seat. This friend is a CRYER and drama queen. I refused to ask her how she was (yes I"m horrible) because I knew she would say something pitiful begging for attention and then cry. I've never been fond of this lady if you couldn't tell. Anyway after din my sil drove drama lady home and while everyone was busy doing stuff I beat both my nephews at air hockey. They were both surprised which made me feel great lol. Aunty is actually pretty good! Ha! My family was the last to leave. We discussed Easter plans and then just sat there shooting the breeze until we were all yawning and realized we should call it a day. That was my favourite part of the day btw - being with my whole fam talking about everything and nothing.

Sunday we drove home after church and lunch with my parents. It was a very nice weekend!

My work week was a bit crazy as my manager told me he's expecting a baby with his partner (they are both early 30s). I think she is a couple months along. On Tuesday he suddenly sent us a message saying he had to urgently leave as his partner was in a bad car accident. Thank God she is ok but she has a long list of things wrong with her - pelvis, ribs and vertabrae and they were keeping her in the hospital for a while. Miraculously the baby is doing ok! Hopefully I'll get an update this week.

On Wednesday I met up with C and we had dinner and then went to Costco. I no longer have a membership and wanted a few things and she generously took me. Of course I spent more than I wanted - thus why I no longer have a membership! On the way home I was craving ice cream (pms and memory of all that ice cream from Cuba). I got it and had some - yum - while chatting with my parents that evening.

The next day I went to have some more....it was soup. Not 'half frozen' but soup. We knew our fridge/freezer was dying but kept putting it off. This fridge came with our house - 16 years ago - so it did it's job and then some. It's old and is falling apart inside (so many broken bits). We began to look online but weren't sure when we would go as we had company coming this weekend. My friend S and Singer her bf.

Thursday S text me that she had a bad cold and didn't want to chance giving it to us. On the plus side our house was now clean! And on the even more plus side our weekend was now open to go and shop for a fridge....and stove. Yah we decided what the hell we were in the mood to spend money! Nah our stove has been going for a while also. Only 2 of the 4 elements works. Keith tried a few things but couldn't get it working. It sucks as it's only like 7 years old?

Friday eve I headed over to visit with T at her old place for the LAST TIME. She moves officially April 1st but 99% of her stuff is already moved. She caught me up on the drama going on in her life and I gave her all the details about my trip. She too knows my neighbour is a princess.

Saturday Keith and I headed out to a couple places after doing our online research. We bought a fridge and a stove. The fridge is supposed to be delivered in hopefully one to two weeks and the stove by May? In preparation we are trying to eat all the freezer stuff that is ok. We also bought a small fridge about 3 years ago? It was from a restaurant chain that a thrift store was selling. We are "eventually" going to put it in our basement when that's done (hahaha) - anyway it sits in my office behind me so I managed to make a path for it and get it out of the office and into the kitchen - Keith had put it in on wheels (he has wheels from his bread man job to roll the stacks around). We turned it on and all works well.

WTF - so loud squealing just started. From our dryer. I swear to all that is holy I am going to lose my shit soon. I went down. Took everything out - just to see - put it back in - turned it back on and SQUEAL. I just left the f*cker and after another 30 seconds it stopped. I really gotta keep all the warranties and shit in order for all our appliances now. They don't make things like they used to. Everything now has an expiry date of like 5 years or less it seems. Thus us holding on to our dying fridge with both hands.

We moved all of our meat items to the new fridge. Now to wait for the delivery calls. Even if they call that it's in and can't deliver for a few days Keith can grab his work truck and go get them. He literally parks his truck around the corner from them.

As for the freezer stuff, I had bought a cheesecake last weekend when I had considered bringing it for my mom's b-day but then I realized timing wise it wouldn't work out so left it here. I took the box out tonight and it says to thaw it in the fridge for one day or take it out for 2 hours on the counter and then eat. I left it maybe for 45 minutes and um yup it was a-ok to eat. And can I just say delicious! I had it with pumpkin spice tea. It was apple cheesecake.

Ok time to wrap this up and get this bedtime party started. I"m in the middle of a good book and just want to snuggle down and read until bedtime.

9:01 p.m. - 2023-03-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

happyone
mistfree
barefootruby
hitch-hike
In 19 Seconds
fullmoon
neko-carre
catsoul