curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Definitely not the Christmas we were planning!

Oh what a long week it's been. A hellish week. Not one I ever want to relive. Monday after a long day of work we were just about to sit down to dinner when I checked my phone. My mom had text the family - my dad had had a heart attack. I'm still not sure why texting was her go to means of communication. She asked that we call her when we got the message.

I found out he wasn't feeling well that morning - he asked my mom to drive him to dialysis and then once there he asked her to get a wheelchair as he felt too weak to walk in. My dad has never done that before. He was also short of breath. Thankfully the wonderful nurses took over and within an hour or so it was determined he had had a heart attack and needed to be transferred to another hospital. My mom couldn't be with my dad due to the restrictions so they both spent it in separate parts of the hospital until they transferred him to another hospital a half hour away. The doctors asked my dad several times about feeling chest pain but he insisted he felt a tightening but not severe pain - they were quite surprised because it was determined he had a massive heart attack.

My mom told us not to come and I almost listened to her. Keith was like you're going right? My younger brother was going but Keith was like your mom will appreciate having your brother there but she'd appreciate having you there even more. I knew what he was saying. So I quickly showered and packed a bag and hit the road, I wasn't going to sleep that night anyway. I made great time as I used the super expensive toll road (not looking forward to that bill).

My mom was happy and relieved we were there. We sat with her and called the hospital many times trying to get an update. Around 10 we did get thru to ICU and were given an update. He was resting comfortably and was assessed by the dr.

The next morning the 3 of us drove to the hospital and it was a long day of sitting and waiting. My dad was emotional and happy we were there especially for my mom. My older brother joined us in early afternoon. By 4pm my dad finally went in for surgery. They were hoping a stent would do the trick but weren't sure if he would need open heart surgery. The stent would take about 45 minutes. By 6:30 we were all on pins and needles and when I saw my dad roll past the waiting room door I couldn't help but cry out that there he was!

It was a long procedure but it turns out it was just a stent that they were able to put in. The bad news was that my dad had covid. For some reason that's when the nurses and doctors all had the cranky hour. Hoo boy I don't hold it against them but all bedside manor was thrown out the window. They all but demanded we leave that moment. I was like well we just want to say goodbye to my dad who we are all glad is still ALIVE. Then my mom and I headed home while my brothers headed to their homes.

As we drove I couldn't help but recall all day my mom had been sneezing and blowing her nose. I knew she was rundown and stressed but once home we did a covid test. She was positive. Sigh. I was negative but I couldn't abandon her. So I donned a mask and stayed with her and then made the trip in the next evening to pick up my dad.

2 days after a heart attack they released him. He couldn't walk on his own. His legs were so weak. I can't believe the hospital would release him. This isn't my dad's first stent. He had one maybe a decade ago and back then they wouldn't release him until he could walk the corridor unaided. Now? Throw him in a wheelchair and get out! Great health care system.

We got my dad home and I basically walked/carried him to their apartment because he was so wobbly. We had a couple scares when he would get up to go to the washroom or to bed and both times nearly took a header if we hadn't caught him.

Thursday morning he was a bit better. A little more steady but not much. I had to pick up meds and run some errands for them. They at first wanted to come for the ride but then both began to feel not so great. I ran the errands and came back to find them resting and feeling a bit better. I then packed my car up and hit the road before the bad weather began.

I did another test last night and this morning and both were negative. I worked til noon today. That was a surprise. My employer is being a bunch of a-holes and played a 'wait and see game' to let everyone know if they could leave at noon. We've always had a skeletal staff and were informed in advance about the schedule since I began working there 23 years ago. But this year? OH no that wasn't going to happen. We are just too darn important now! But somehow I was one of the 'lucky' ones to get an email at noon saying I could leave. I still think they are wankers.

And then slowly as the afternoon wore on my head began to pound and my sinuses began to clog. I may have covid. I just found out my older brother has covid. He was with us all afternoon. I'm not surprised but still not happy.

Thankfully for my parents my dad doesn't really have any symptoms while my mom has a bad cold. I may test in a day or two we'll see. I hate wasting tests. It's not like I"m going anywhere anyway. Our family x-mas was postponed until early January as long as we are all healthy and covid free.

So until then I am going to rest, relax and have Christmas with my husband. I am going to be thankful that my dad is still with us. I am going to try not to stress and worry about the 'what ifs'. I am now going to go and find some more tylenol for this headache.

Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night!

6:42 p.m. - 2022-12-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

happyone
mistfree
barefootruby
hitch-hike
In 19 Seconds
fullmoon
neko-carre
catsoul