curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Buh-bye 2022....don't let the door hit ya on the way out...

My last entry of 2022. Here I sit freshly showered, hair wet debating on whether I will straighten it when it dries or just let it do it's own wavy thing tonight? We'll see how I feel once it's dried - and how much time I have left. My nails are painted sparkly - I did it last night and I'm a little surprised I haven't chipped them yet. Also they look better because I actually wore readers when doing them. Ahem. Getting old.

So to wrap up the last entry - surprise I did have Covid! That headache? Yah that was covid. It was basically a sinus cold. The most mild covid I could have had which I am so thankful for. I tested negative after 5 days. We had a family zoom on x-mas and my dad was not looking good. He was hunched over and coughing. He hadn't been eating or sleeping. We convinced him to let my mom take him to the hospital. He agreed. They admitted him and by the next day he was doing better. He had dialysis and then they released him. They gave him a prescription and since then every day is a bit better. Thank God.

Keith and I celebrated the day in pj's. We gave each other gifts and later he made us a beautiful turkey dinner with all the trimmings. Despite covid we managed to have a nice day together. Keith kept thinking he was coming down with covid but surprisingly he never did get it! He tested before going back to work.

This week I did very little. I have watched a LOT of movies. Mostly netflix x-mas ones. I have left the house very little - even after getting the negative test. We did make it to the play I booked months ago - the Nutcracker. It was good. I didn't get the best seats - I thought I did at the time - live and learn. But we still had a good time.

Keith and I each took a covid test this morning and we are both negative so we are going to attend a NYE party at a friend's. They live just under an hour away. We've celebrated NYE with them a few times and it's always been a good time. I also just really want to laugh and not think about the stressers in my life or the upcoming sadness. My sil's step dad doesn't have much longer it seems. I'm glad I hugged him last time I saw him. He never was a hugger but I bent over and gave him one before we left.

I've been thinking about new years resolutions. I am resoluted that I am not making any - lol. I, of course, have plans to ditch the bad food - well eating it daily anyway! Exercising a LOT more. As Keith and I climbed the stairs to the play we attended - 3 flights - I was winded and sweating - him? Nothing! Sure I had covid as an excuse but we both knew it was my out of shapeness. Also I have got to stop taking for granted my health. I have great health insurance that pays for some great meds that others have to pay hundreds of dollars for a month and what do I do? Diddly. It's time to step up and take care of myself.

Also? I decided I need to work on myself when it comes to planning things. I thought about the stink I made over my dad's b-day party. We could have included Paul - the man who only has weeks - maybe days to live but I was against it. I had my reasons - but looking back why was I so resistant? I take stands when I don't have to. I can be inflexible and I don't like that about myself. I'm not sure I like this introspection nonsense at the end of the year lol.

Ok I am going to wrap this up - throw some food in my mouth and then begin to get ready. We don't dress up thankfully but we try and look nice! I'm just wearing jeans and a blue top with a bit of sparkle. I want to be comfy.

I bought some chinese food last night that I plan on eating tomorrow! I know we're going to come home probably feeling worse for wear either from too much booze or too little sleep - or probably both. I want to be able to just heat up some comfort tasty food and sit on my butt. Poor Keith thought he was off Monday when he was talking about having the bread orders he had to cancel and re-arrange and then I reminded him he actually works Monday. He was actually happy about that! He doesn't like when he has to double up days or has to change all the bread routes around.

As for me I still have a week off. It has been SO nice having these 2 weeks off. Also really weird as I normally plan to do things or go certain places but after rushing to my parents 2 weeks ago I just haven't had the urge or desire to plan ANYTHING. Not right now. Just taking it one day at a time.

See you all next year! Be safe - have fun whatever you do.

1:57 p.m. - 2022-12-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

happyone
mistfree
barefootruby
hitch-hike
In 19 Seconds
fullmoon
neko-carre
catsoul