curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Up up and away

Whoa - 18 days into 2023 and I'm only writing now? I'm a slacker!

Let's just clean up 2022 stuff shall we? NYE was FUN. I really needed to hang out with people, have a few drinks and just LAUGH! We played games, we sang, we ate, we just overall had a good time. The last couple years got cancelled due to Covid so we were all pretty thrilled to be together again. There's only like 8 of us and one guy I literally only see once a year and only met 5 years ago but he's part of my NYE fun! He also totally looks like the guy from Princess Bride "As you Wish" guy. So he's easy on the eyes is what I'm saying.

Keith made it to about 1:30am and I headed to bed just after 4am. Tired and a bit hung over in the morning but totally worth it. And that chinese food I had? Awesome! Well planned me.

I literally can't remember what I did with that 3rd week I was off. I figured out I basically had 3 weeks off - 2 vac and 1 wellness because of my dad. I did work the Monday and half the Friday of the first week but yah essentially for the first time in 23 years I had 3 weeks off in a row. Kind of sad but kind of amazing.

My dad is doing so much better. His voice was soft and raspy after he got out of the hospital but the better he gets the stronger his voice gets and it is just a glorious thing to hear. We decided to cancel our family x-mas all together. Just too much sadness and strangeness we are dealing with.

I have no idea how my sil is holding it together. She is basically there for her step father while he is going thru medical crisis after medical crisis and now he is in the hospital probably until he dies which apparently may be in the near future. He lost his site for a while. His eyes refused to open. It's messy and it's sad and it's heart breaking.

But the last weekend of the month Keith and I plan to go visit my parents Saturday and spend the night and finally give my parents their x-mas gifts. Then Sunday we will drive to my brother's church and go to his service where my older brother is becoming an Elder. We are hoping to go out to lunch afterwards with most of the family minus my older brother and his wife as they are leaving probably during the church service to catch a flight to Cuba!

I am trying my darndest to put it out of my mind until a few days before because I know things can change especially with the relative in hospital.

With that all being said.....what do I go and do? I book a trip to Cuba as well!! Not with my brother and his wife - although her and I are planning one for 2024! No this time we are going with 2 sets of our neighbours. The ones who kept bugging us to get our passports updated!

I am almost certain it will be a shit show as my one neighbour is more of a princess than anyone I know. My other neighbour could live in her bathing suit and eat crackers every day if it means she's at the beach or in the pool. I'm in between. I just need a bed to lay my head, some plain food that won't upset my stomach and a beach or pool to laze around for 8 to 10 hours. Ha.

But seriously it should definitely be interesting. We hang out at parties but to go away for a week together? Yup interesting! I also plan on packing very little. I have learned over the years less is better.

I booked our seats on the plane - near the front even though it's the least safe place to be but my thought process was that I hope to be on the plane the least amount of time I can possibly be. Last time I flew, several years back, I was a nervous flyer and at one point I felt so much anxiety I wanted to run off the plane as they were closing the doors. I need to chill the eff out! I will be looking into ways to do this. Meditation. Pills. All of it!

What else? We saw K's family on the weekend. It was technically a x-mas get together but we don't do gifts etc. Just hang out. We did play one x-mas game with some fun gifts that the organizer planned as a surprise. We made pizzas for 19 of us. Keith made all the dough ahead of time and everyone brought toppings. We rented out a church hall and it had 2 stoves so it was fast cooking. Also cool that we had 2 floors so the kids could holler and play on one floor and the adults could chill on the other. It was a really nice time.

This Friday I plan on taking my first Wellness half day. I could use vac but that is precious commodity since I am using 7 vac days to go to Cuba! Ahem. We are flying Thursday to Thursday. A little annoying but since we are flying out of our town and not T dot I'm not all that upset.

Anywho I'm taking the afternoon off on Friday to go to the Museum with my retired friend. We want to go to the Murdoch Mysteries exhibition. We thought we had til the end of Feb nope turns out to the end of Jan! Dang! So we're hoping to make it happen this Friday. Then on Saturday Keith and I are going to see the new Avatar movie - I'm not that into the movie but two things: it's free and I get to eat popcorn! It's thru my work.

Alright and I think that catches us up! Now I am going to go scrub the last pan soaking in the sink, get ready for bed and then go watch an episode of the Office (I'm listening to the Office Ladies podcast so I like to watch the episodes as they talk about them).

Oh and thanks to everyone for all the comments and well wishes about my dad - it means a lot!

9:47 p.m. - 2023-01-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

happyone
mistfree
barefootruby
hitch-hike
In 19 Seconds
fullmoon
neko-carre
catsoul