curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

February....already?

One entry a month? That's not cool at all. I'll work on that.

I went to my very first funeral in which I didn't cry - at all. Didn't even tear up. I did nearly laugh a few times and I did not mean to be disrespectful at all. I also sat beside my niece who is in her early 20's. She and I should not sit beside each other at serious events.

The funeral was for my sil's stepdad. There was sadly family drama - all over money of course. He was catholic and thus his service was too. This church doesn't allow eulogies so it was just the priest who I think didn't even know him and who had a speech impediment talking about him. He even got his name wrong. Afterwards our side of the family went out to a late lunch and had a beautiful time together. I sat with an older gentleman in his 70's who was good friends with P. We both made each other laugh. It was a nice send off.

When Keith and I got back home after 7 hours driving in one day I felt like a weight was lifted from me. Then the next two days I was ZONKED. Like I literally felt like I had no energy and was just SO tired. I even tested myself. Negative. I slept quite a bit for me. Then just like that POOF I was fine. My energy came back and the sadness that had been living like a shroud over me began to finally dissipate. Oh also another relative passed away a few days before P. A lovely lady who was in her 80's. An extended relative. I couldn't make her funeral. She had been sick for months. Also cancer.

So yah that's what's been happening. OH and I'm going to Cuba did I mention that yet? I can't remember! We're going with our neighbours - 2 other couples. March 2.

Funny enough my older brother and his wife are just getting back from a trip to Cuba today! And my younger brother and his fam were gifted a trip from my sil's brother to Florida at the end of February.

I'm nervous about flying but trying not to think about that. Trying not to think too much about the trip honestly. I don't want to build it up in my head and have it take over my life. I'm making lists and slowly starting to pull out some warm weather clothes and begin throwing things in a corner to pack. But until then I have a few fun weekends planned!

Next weekend Keith and I are going to Toronto to see the Harry Potter Cursed Child play and a night at a hotel. We are also hoping to go to Ikea to look into a huge cabinet thingy for our kitchen. I REALLY hope that happens! Then the weekend after we're attending a b-day party for 3 of our pals. That should be a fun drinky time!

Ok time to go get ready for bed while watching the Grammy's. Well it's on in the background. Also to try on the few sundresses I bought while out today doing a little solo shopping for the trip! Oh did I mention that I will have my menses while on vacation. I've run the numbers many times. Well played mother nature. Well played. Bitch.

And a random note to say that I just took our x-mas tree down this weekend! The longest I have ever kept it up! I had grand plans last week but being knocked on my ass by life or the universe or pretend covid had other plans for me. The space looks empty.

9:23 p.m. - 2023-02-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

happyone
mistfree
barefootruby
hitch-hike
In 19 Seconds
fullmoon
neko-carre
catsoul