curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Short work week is never a bad thing

July already. Yah the time she is flying. Days are long years are short. I'm misquoting but that's ok.

It was a good long weekend. Long for some of us. Canada day fell on a Saturday this year. Keith and I had made no plans which isn't like us but I no longer feel the need to book us a hotel and go somewhere with people. Maybe that's what the pandemic taught me? Shrug. Who knows? That or I'm just getting old!

We did jump in the car and take off down the country roads - we do so love our little road trips. We found a town an hour or so away. Perused a couple antique shops. Drove home. Stopped to buy some fresh tasty local strawberries. Got home, had a couple hours to just relax and take it easy before din and then after din we headed to the movies to see the new Superman. It was a late night - we weren't home til midnight! And it was Keith's idea so he can't blame me for the lack of sleep.

The fireworks probably happened but it was touch and go all day with the crazy hot muggy weather that kept threatening rain.

Sunday was a cleaning day for me. I have just a couple weeks til we pick up our nephew to come spend the week with us. Then at the end of that week we meet up with my brothers and their wives and some of the kids and go to a cottage. Then we leave with the other nephew - bring him home to spend the week and drive him back August 5th. It's going to be a crazy few weeks!!

I got some done - not as much as I wanted but I know myself - I need the pressure to clean and organize. I'm not feeling that pressure just yet! And yes I do a lot of swearing at myself as I'm sweating and mopping floors for being said procrastinator!

Anywho today was a stat for me. T and I made plans to meet up and do some thrifting. I considered going to the gym beforehand but I woke up and decided I wanted a ME day. I didn't want obligations. So I read in bed for a while then got up and slowly got ready before heading out to grab some breakfast on the run and meet up with T at our first store.

It was a fun day. We found a few treasures - we laughed, we gossiped, had lunch and then finally called it a day just before 5.

I just finished zooming with my mom. Normally that's a Sunday but my laptop was having none of it last night so we had to postpone. Now I am touching up the ol' roots but I'm a little worried as the colour is lighter than I normally go. We shall see!

Tomorrow it's back to the real world: work. My boss is on vac which I guess is a good thing?

This weekend we were supposed to go to a 50th birthday party for a friend. We are supposed to party on a boat. I haven't heard any details yet so no idea what's happening with that. If we all sleep over there will be 8 or 9 adults and the boat sleeps maybe 4? We did it with 6 last time so I am really interested to see what if anything is being planned. I am refusing to ask because meh if it doesn't happen I won't be upset. Not because I don't want to party I'm just not looking forward to the drive to Toronto and then the crazy sleeping arrangements. Gawd I am old!

Ok time to go rinse this hair and see what happens! So many unknowns lol!

8:37 p.m. - 2023-07-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

happyone
mistfree
barefootruby
hitch-hike
In 19 Seconds
fullmoon
neko-carre
catsoul