curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Anything with wheels is nuthin' but trouble!

And this would be why I watch re-runs of sitcoms when I get home from work. I just finished watching a Dr Phil episode and good God it made me cry. It was about an out of control mom of 5 who verbally and physically abused her kids. He said it would be disturbing footage and I should have heeded his advice. Instead I sat glued to the screen feeling sick to my stomach watching this woman abuse her children. Halfway through I was almost sobbing. The father, in my opinion, wasn't much better. He claims not to have known what was going on. The kids brought up the fact that he used a stick on them and also used his steel toed boot 'side only'. Dr P has made him promise not to leave the mom alone with the kids. I'm more nervous about him leaving both parents with the kids. It just sickens me that people can do this especially to innocent kids.

Deep breath - gotta let it go.

So the other night I did eventually get up off my butt and dragged my bicyle down the 2 flights of narrow stairs to my car. Inflating the tires wasn't a fun task as I had no idea what I was doing. I finally did figure it out. I locked the car and then got ready to take a little 'ride' around the neighbourhood. It was then I noticed that the first tire I worked on wasn't inflated as much as it should be. I debated going up the stairs unlocking the car and doing it all over again but then decided to take a quick spin down the street anyway. Man was I wobbly! It was pathetic. It better have been the half deflated tire making me look that bad. I did a quick wobbly trip up the street and was pretty happy to come right back. I'm gonna have Keith take a look at the gears and back brake before I head out again. Oh yah I should also mention that while I was hauling the very heavy old bike back up the 2 flights of stairs in my cute new yellow shorts I got a HUGE black grease stain on them. Not impressed.

Speaking of brakes let me tell you about my extra day off yesterday. It started with me not wanting to get out of bed at 9 when Keith was coming to bed and kicking me out of it. Due largely to the fact that I didn't fall asleep till 2am the night before. Once up I sat around for a while watching some morning talk shows and then finally convinced myself to shower and leave the house! I drove to Walymart bought a couple of needed items then drove to a quick oil change place. $245 I left there. Yah I got a few flushes done. Now I know that I may be getting suckered here but I am a firm believer of maintaining a car. And I sure as heck am not handy at these car things and sadly neither is the hubby. So I'll pay someone to do it and since the place keeps track of how often they do these things to my car and it's only every 2 years for most stuff I just do it. Maybe I have sucker written on my forehead but at least my car runs well. Sort of - but I'll get to that.

After the expensive oil change I headed to 'my' bra shop. It's the expensive place that has bras big enough for my boobs (oh joy). And I pay a pretty penny for them - or dollar as it may be. I did find one for just over a $100 (yup that much) but they have to order it in. Can I mention again how much it sucks to have big boobs? Keith thinks it's great. Of course I went on a tangent with him later that day about how 'great' it is shelling out all this money for something most women get for $20! Yah he wasn't impressed with that either. I told him if we have kids I would seriously consider getting a reduction after all was said and done. And I'm still not sure if I was all talk or not. Anywho moving on.

After that fun experience (not!) nobody needs to stand in front of an old lady while she looks at your pasty overweight body try to shimmy into bra after expensive bra, I headed home to pick up Keith. In the process of doing this I got lost - twice. Did I mention I'm 10 minutes from home? I wasn't lost so much as turned around. I kept missing my cut-offs. Once I finally made it home and picked up the hubby we headed directly to a garage specializing in brakes. The brakes have been feeling a little 'off' and then on the way to pick up Keith they started making this horrible grinding sound. $450 later we had new front brakes and rotars.

It might have been nice if during the 3 1/2 hours we waited for the car we were in an area that we could do stuff. We wandered to a few close stores, I got my eyebrows waxed by a woman who was none to gentle and then we ended up at a local bar and had a few drinks and snacks (that last part was fun).

After that we decided to stop spending money but rather than go home we went to a first time home buyer's seminar. It was an information session (obviously). It was pretty interesting, learned a few things. It will be quite a while to we have 'all our ducks in a row' to get a house but it's good to be well informed about this stuff.

I'm tired. I made dinner for the hubby tonight (ham, potaotes and broccoli) turned out pretty good if I do say so myself.

I have to make another trip to the big W cause the cleaning brush I bought has a broken handle (I wanted to do that tonight but I don't think that's gonna happen). Well I'm off to go spend time with the hubby then if I'm lucky fall into bed into a nice deep sleep for 8 hours! Here's hoping!

6:17 p.m. - 2006-08-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen