curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Day After

I want to say it's no longer my b-day but since I like to keep my b-day going for a week or more I'm not gonna say it. But yesterday was my official day of birth and it was a pretty darn good one.

Now the day before my official day of birth was anything but good. I was in so much pain - so much. When I read other people's blogs and they're talking about having cramps and such I can empathize (sp?) and remember 'the days' when I too had bad cramps and even now I have the odd 'twinges' that hurt. But, wow, this has brought me back to the ol' school when the cramps used to knock me on my ass. Thursday I dragged my butt into work cause I had a team meeting and I was going out for dinner and a movie with co-workers after work. I popped tylenol all day long. By the time I got home at 9 I felt like I wanted to die. I took more pills, had a homemade water bottle placed on my tummy and finally managed to drift off to sleep around midnight all the while praying not to wake up feeling this bad on my birthday.

My wish came true! I didn't wake up pain free but the pain was much less intense so I was an extremely happy b-day girl. Although I was a confused one cause I woke up alone in the apartment. Keith was supposed to be home from work around 6:30 and by 8 o'clock I finally figured out he wasn't gonna make it home in time. So I made myself my own b-day breakfast (tomato and cheese on toast - mmmm) and then the hubby called to say he was just leaving work and not to leave yet and he would drive me to work so he could see me - awwww. So I was spoiled and got driven to work.

At work I was even more spoiled cause it was 'treat Friday' and a co-worker brought in a double fudge chocolate cake for moi. Of course the sweetness was over the charts and almost put me in a coma but yum! Also another co-worker wrote on a white board it was my b-day so everyone kept walking by wishing me a happy b-day (I can be quite the b-day whore if you haven't guessed). Around 10:30 I was down at the reception desk when a courier walked in with a huge bouqet of flowers with a b-day balloon attached to it asking for my long assed married name - SQUEAL - they were for me from my loving hubby! It's the second time the hubby has ever given me flowers and man it was great. Then I got tons more b-day wishes not to mention a few jealous comments. I also got warned that once I've been married for 14 years none of this ever happens. Well more the reason to enjoy it now I guess!

Oh yah my b-day gift from my boss was the best - she wasn't in the office! Ha.

I called the hubby around 4 o'clock for a ride home cause I really didn't want to walk downtown carrying a huge bouquet of flowers (even I don't like that much attention). He came and got me and once home we chatted for a while and I told him how happy I was with the flowers and he hinted at how much these things cost (wowzer - who knew?!) and then we changed and got ready for dinner. I picked a local restaurant close to us that is a few steps above casual but not that pricey. It was a lovely very filling dinner. Oh and for my reference when I look back dinner was at the Cr0ck and Bl0ck (we were talking about my b-day pasts and were getting them mixed up!).

After dinner the hubby asked what I wanted to and I decided that a walk in the nearby flower gardens would be perfect. The last time we were there was to take our engagement pictures (at least a year ago). It is such a beautiful place. We walked around taking in the beauty and digesting. Of course then my cramps decided to rear their ugly heads and make themselves known. So off we headed to the mall to find me some girly pills. I also bought a piece of very expensive chocolate - it's still waiting to be eaten cause I wanted to eat it when I don't feel stuffed to the gills!

After the mall I was ready for home - tired and sore. Of course we were only home for a few minutes since T had called and when I called her back and offered to come keep her company she took us up on it. Her guy had to leave for Scotland Thursday night because his dad passed away. T's doing okay but I could tell she wasn't herself. She was drinking (not unusual for a Friday night) and I could tell she wanted me to go out with her but I felt like I had been run over and was dead tired so I had to say no. T is so unpredicatble that she would have either gone to bed after we left at 11 or called up friends and went out.

So that was my b-day. Not bad all things considered. I found a card in the car but the hubby said it's not to be opened to the party at my parents. He's not big on cards so it's my first one this week. I'm thinking there might be something in the card as well but we'll see - don't wanna jinx it.

Speaking of jinxing - we finally planned what we're doing for our one year anniversary. But that's for another time cause I'm tired of typing and my belly has finally woken up.

It's now almost 10:30 and I was thinking of going to V V to look for a halloween costume cause T found a flapper dress yesterday and now she wants to go out. Me and costumes do not go well together. I may end up going out but there's gonna have to be a big ol' ambition wand that hits me to do. I'm hoping Keith will get up around 12 or 1 and we can leave for my parents. More b-day love - bring it on!

*Quick update- T called while I was getting ready to post this and she's dropping by in 15 minutes and we're hitting V V - so much for procrastination and now I gotta get my butt in the shower!

9:54 a.m. - 2006-09-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen