curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This week should end now.

Just a quickie update cause I'm outta here in 15 minutes to go swimming and drink some martinis! I had plans to do a little shopping beforehand but C called and those plans went down the drain. I probably could have salvaged my plans but d-land won over shopping (I think this means I'm addicted to d-land big time). But the upside is I saved myself some coin by not shopping so go me.

Well this week has been weird and we're only in to day 2 (work wise). Yesterday I arrived at work and was immediately told that a guy in my office died. They think it was an overdose (alcohol was the rumor). He was 29. I could not believe how sad I was. It's not like we had deep conversations more like cute hallway banter. I still cannot believe he's gone. They believe he died on x-mas day. His funeral was today and a handful of co-worker's went. Only a handful cause the funeral was 4 hours away in his parent's home town. Everytime I deliver the mail and I see his name I get this lump in my throat.

Within an hour of finding out about his death we were called into our manager's office and told that another lady in our office died on New Years Day. There were no details available at the time. She was 49. I've worked here for 7 years and not once have we had someone die and now it's 2 people within a week of eachother. Brutal.

Her funeral is tomorrow. My co-worker asked if I wanted to go with her. I told her I had belly dancing. Hello how calous am I?! I knew this lady even less than the guy - we didn't even have the hallway banter thing. Plus she was off for a year for unknown reasons. All these are excuses I know. I am still quite conflicted about this. Death sucks.

Now let's skip forward to my surprise today. A few minutes before noon our receptionist called me and said to come down. My first thought was that Keith was surprising me at work. I was close. But rather than Keith it was J. Yup that J. My ex. Of course I looked like hell cause hey isn't that protocol when seeing an ex you have to be totally unprepared. He came to tell me that he has officially joined the army. He'll be leaving in a month. We chatted for about half an hour - he did most of the talking - that's J. It was weird but not as weird as I thought it would be. No weird vibes no awkwardness. I told him to be careful and we parted ways.

Okay my time is up. Off to swim and drink - but not together!

6:43 p.m. - 2007-01-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen