curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Long weekend recap

Written this morning just posted now!

I�m wrapped up in a cozy grey sweater right now and I LOVE it. I am coming to the conclusion that I really am not a summer person after all. Oh I try but I really HATE being sweaty. I hate feeling gross and icky. That�s why I can be a summer person when I have water to swim in at all times. And even then I am learning that I only like to swim in certain water. Lakes are becoming too gross for me. I cannot stand weeds and that sand/muck when you wade in. Gross gross gross. I think I am 100% an Autumn girl. Good thing my b-day and anniversary are during this season!

Speaking of b-days, my dad�s birthday was well celebrated this weekend. Not in the style of most of our family�s birthday�s as it was a crazy busy weekend for my parents plus my Aunt being in the hospital has complicated matters further. She is doing very good. In fact she may be released today. She�s got a long road of recovery ahead of her plus the doctor�s have �fixed� her heart problem but apparently she has many other health concerns that do not involve her heart so she still has to attend to those while recuperating from surgery.

I felt like the biggest idiot on Saturday after calling my dad and wishing him a happy b-day on the wrong day! My mom thought it was part of my plan to �throw� him off but really it was just me getting the date wrong. Oy. Although in my defense I was a tad sleep deprived. I had got up that morning at 4:45am. That was just insane of me. The hubby asked me to go along on his bread route with him � for the company � how could I say no? So up I got (he had left at 3:30 to go load the truck) at 4:45 � got dressed and then promptly laid back down with my phone waiting for him to call and tell me he was on his way. I won�t lie the first hour was rough. I felt so sleepy and was anything but happy to be up. But by 7 I was doing fine and glad that I had went, although it made for a long day.

We got to my parents in excellent time even with all the stopping � kfc for b-day dinner, roadside fruit and veg stand, grocery store, lunch etc. My parents were out and soon after we arrived my older brother and his brood arrived. We set up and within half an hour my parents arrived. My younger bro and his wife were running late but by the time they arrived dinner was just starting so it was excellent timing. Before they arrived my mom, niece and myself made a run to the grocery store and was just so ordinary that it made me wish I lived close enough that taking my niece out for an errand or two or even on an outing was something I could do and not have it be a special occasion. It�s one of my very few regrets in life that I don�t see my niece and nephews more often and am not part of their life on a daily or even weekly basis.

Anywho, enough getting sentimental. Sunday was a packed day. We went to church and then came home, had lunch and went right out again to another service! There was another one after that as well but my sil got the 4 of us out of it and we headed to the beach while my parents went to the service. The beach was small and pretty gross (the lake thing I was bitching about above) but at least we cooled off and had a little fun in the sun. That evening after dinner (of just corn on the cob) we headed to the hospital to see my aunt. Afterwards we called ahead and ordered 100 wings (corn just didn�t cut it for dinner!). I was SO cranky on the drive home. I hid it well (except with Keith who I ended up ticking off) but every thing anyone said annoyed me. It was probably the lack of sleep but still man I was a grouch! Since our air mattress is still out of commission we borrowed my parents which is a double and Keith and I just do not fit on a double that well. We turned it so it was lengthwise on Sunday night and then placed some couch cushions where our feet would be and it was so much better!

After our wings Sunday night we played 2 games of scrabble even though it was pretty late and we were all getting to the tired and cranky point. But with 5 people playing the games go pretty fast. I even won a game so booyah. Monday we headed home (after a breakfast of homemade blueberry waffles � yum!) and the traffic was great. I did get a little miffed with the hubby though cause I had said I wanted to go to Zellers for something or other but first we had to drop off some paperwork that was work related for the hubby. No problem. Except this quiet guy who is my husband suddenly turns into the chattiest person alive with people he works with! By the time he had finished up his business (while I sat sweltering in the car!) it was too late as most stores had closed early because of the holiday. He did apologize a lot and I guess I was a little more bummed about it then I should have been.

Monday evening was spent watching a little tv and playing on the laptop (stupid addictive f@cebook!). I was too tired to write a cohesive entry so I just read a few journals and then headed to bed at a decent hour. I was so tired this morning and did not want to get up and walk but I forced myself cause I ate terribly this weekend and didn�t exercise at all. Plus I will be leaving Thursday night for our family reunion and so exercise will slip to the wayside once again. Rather than just say forget about it like I normally would I�m actually trying to fit it in when I can. Go me. I was on a roll this morning as when I got home from my walk I went straight to the sink and washed the dirty dishes as they were bothering me since I got up. So much work before 8am!

I�m also trying to eat leaner today so I only had one of the two porkchops that I brought for lunch (with a salad). Thing is I�m still kind of hungry so I�m trying to snack healthy and will be munching my grapes soon enough.

I have a lot to do in the next couple of days. It didn�t really dawn on me that I was going away so soon (leaving Thursday evening to my parents and then driving up with them Friday morning to the campsite � about a 5 hour drive I believe). Keith can�t make it which bums me out to no end. But I had decided early on in the summer to go to this since just because Keith has to work doesn�t mean I can�t do things without him!

I was planning on doing some running around tonight but T has sent me this cryptic email about having a really bad weekend and she�s going to look at houses tonight (her and her guy had decided to stop looking) so I don�t know what�s happening. Needless to say I have ditched my plans and will be seeing her to talk and find out what�s going on. Drama.

My bra is freaking killing me! That had to be said.

There�s this song by BNL and one of the lines is �You think, I only think about you when we�re both in the same room�. It�s how I feel � have always felt. I just kind of assume that my significant other doesn�t think about me as often as I think of them. I now know this isn�t true but it was nice to have confirmation as when I was out in the truck with the hubby and he was pointing out this sign that had a cute saying he told me that for the last 2 weeks it had another saying and everytime he saw the sign he thought of me. The saying was �Worry pulls tomorrow�s clouds over today�s sunshine�. He said I worry too much and just have to enjoy the moment more. He�s sweet.

I�m wearing new jeans today. I bought them on Friday not because I needed a new (smaller) pair but because they were $8. Who could resist? Alright I better end this entry now. I should probably do some work and I definitely have to send a certain someone a long overdue email!

4:06 p.m. - 2007-08-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen