curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ah Karma....how I've missed You!

Have you been hearing noises the last few days? And no, it's not the jingle jangle of bells cause it's almost Christmas. Nope it's the universe laughing at me. I called in sick Tuesday and voila I now have a wicked cold - go me! I went in to work on Wednesday and still had a wicked sore throat but got through it. Yesterday I woke up and felt as if my head was going to explode. I looked at the clock - I had to be out the door in 15 minutes - went and grabbed some cold pills and the phone. I called in and told my boss I would be in but I would be late - I was not missing our work party. I made it to work for 9:30 just in time to watch everyone walk out of the building during a fire drill.

My cold has now entered the sinus stage - no more sore throat - thank God. I've been a little hazy cause of the meds and quite tired but otherwise I'm pretty good.

Then I woke up this morning. The cold has definately hunkered down into the sinuses and it seems content to stay a while and I believe has begun nesting. I could either head into work and just get through the day and come home to face the very last minute days of shopping or I could make the call I made only a couple of days ago.

In case you hadn't guessed I am typing this entry from home. I made the call and my voice was wickedly hoarse which you know always makes the call in more realistic. I took a few cold pills and layed back down but again sleep was not to be mine. I read for a while and now I am up and breathing like darth vader. I threw a load of laundry in (I never did any a few days ago nor did I shop - thanks to the above mentioned book!).

Keith doesn't know I stayed home. Not sure what he's gonna think. He was a little put out last night that I got home rather late from my work party - he thought I would be home early enough to have a late dinner with him. Plus he wanted to celebrate with me. He just found out he got a solid 5 weeks of work booked for Jan and Feb which means some much needed bills will be able to be addressed.

The only snag in the plan for the day which really isn't a snag at all - I have a massage booked for 4:50 today. I realized this week that I have about a hundred dollars left in benefits that I have to use (or lose) before the end of the year. And I refuse to lose them so I'm getting an hour massage today. I'm not sure how it's gonna be with my cold. I don't think I've ever had a massage while sick. Let's hope I don't have a runny nose or coughing fit during it! Fun times.

But long before that I need to get some much needed shopping done and we need to clean this place up. I think the hubby may have went to bed around 5am so if I give him another hour and then start tinkering around loudly enough that he can hear me we can get this party started! Bring on the cold meds!

10:41 a.m. - 2007-12-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen