curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Resolution time - sort of

Wow - there's something very cool about people you don't know congratulating you! I sometimes forget that more people than just my boyfriend (oops guess I mean fianc�e now) reads this! Thanks!

So I've been giving some thought to the old New Years Resolutions that everyone makes and no one seems to keep. I myself have done this but not in the past few years. I found they were the same for every year. And it seems that if I only made the resolution to lose weight once a year then I would be in BIG trouble.

Is this year any different? I don't think so. There are things that I want to change and I guess it is symbolic wanting to implement these changes in the New Year giving yourself a fresh start. So let's see what will I wish to change in 2005?

1. Obviously I want to lose weight and with a wedding kinda-sorta planned for the Fall then I will have to actually follow through with this one. I don't expect miracles but at least 30 would be a good start.

2. I would like to be more organized. I have attempted this at different points in the last year but have yet to totally succeed. I would like to keep my taxes and receipts in one place and not have to hunt for them. I would like to buy birthday cards and little presents well in advance and put them all in one place and not find them 6 months after I needed them. Organization would be nice.

3. I would like to be less cluttered. It kind of falls in line with organization. The only way I really see this one happening is to move to a bigger place. I can weed out all I want but it boils down to I'm 30 years old and I have a ton of stuff that just isn't negotiable in getting rid of. Just to add to this, my parents informed me that they have a few boxes of my things they got from my grandma's when she moved a couple of months ago. Great!

4. And just because I love the number 4 I will add on that I would like to live this year like it's my last. I would like to be able to 'stop and smell the roses' and appreciate life to it's fullest. When I look at my bank account and see that the number is not as high I would like it to be, I want to be able to give thanks that I have that money in my account and that I'm not in the negative. I want to be able to appreciate all that I have in my life. I don't want to take my family, friends, my boy, my health for granted. To quote Tim McGraw, I want to, "Live Like You Were Dying". And just for the heck of it all, I'm gonna print the lyrics here, so when I need to remind myself of this feeling I can flick back to this entry.

He said I was in my early 40's,
With a lot of life before me,
And a moment came that stopped me on a dime.
I spent most of the next days, lookin' at the x-rays,
Talkin' 'bout the options and talkin' 'bout sweet time.
Asked him when it sank in, that this might really be the real end.
How's it hit ya, when you get that kind of news.
Man what ya do.
And he says,

[Chorus]

I went sky divin',
I went rocky mountain climbin',
I went 2.7 seconds on a bull name Fu Manchu.
And I loved deeper,
And I spoke sweeter,
And I gave forgiveness I've been denying,
And he said someday I hope you get the chance,
To live like you were dyin'.

He said I was finally the husband,
That most the time I wasn't.
And I became a friend a friend would like to have.
And all the sudden goin' fishing,
Wasn't such an imposition.
And I went three times that year I lost my dad.
Well I finally read the good book,
And I took a good long hard look at what I'd do
If I could do it all again.
And then.

[Chorus]

Like tomorrow was a gift and you've got eternity
To think about what you do with it,
What could you do with it, what can
I do with with it, what would I do with it.

[Chorus]
Sky divin',
I went rocky mountain climbin',
I went 2.7 seconds on a bull name Fu Manchu.
And I loved deeper,
And I spoke sweeter,
And I watched an eagle as it was flyin'.
And he said someday I hope you get the chance,
To live like you were dyin'.

To live like you were dyin'.
To live like you were dyin'.
To live like you were dyin'.
To live like you were dyin'.


Well I think I should end this entry now. I hope everyone has a wonderful New Years Eve and be careful out there! See ya next year!

2:48 p.m. - 2004-12-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen