curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You say Mouse I say Monster

I am so tired right now. So tired. I went to bed at 1:30, late for me, but it was a Friday. I woke up at 3:15 because of some sound. I thought it had something to do with the wicked wind outside but I got up to investigate cause it was bugging me. Upon closer inspection the sound was coming from the closet. It was a scratching sound. Now let me stop and explain here. I hate mice - critters -I hate them with a passion. I've almost had some serious meltdowns over those little bastards. My first was when I was around 10 or 11 I believe. We lived in a rather old house in Nova Scotia. A friend and I were cleaning my cluttered messy room. I was in the closet folding my doll clothes. As I shook out a small shirt something fell out - a dead mouse. I screamed like I found a human dead body. My friend started screaming. We ran towards the door but it wouldn't open. We pulled on the handle but it wouldn't budge. Finally I looked down and noticed that the door was locked from the inside. I unbolted the door and we ran down the stairs all the while screaming for my mom. So I guess you could say I'm a tad scarred from that incident.

So last night I clapped my hands and the sound would stop - I knew it was something live. I threw my empty water bottle in the closet - the sound stopped for a minute. Then resumed. Off and on it went for the next half hour or so. I was tired and irrationally freaked out from the sound in the closet. Finally I packed up the bedding and my pillows and went out to the couch. I watched tv for a bit and finally went to sleep a little after 4am.

My hubby laughed at me this morning when I told him my story - he obviously doesn't have any 'irrational' fears. But he checked the closet out for me and there was no sign of any critters. He then told me how the house we live in so old and that occasionally the critters - normally squirrels - will try and find a way in or make a way in between the walls...not the apartment. Although this still doesn't make it okay at least it's better than in the same room. I guess.

Yah so that's why I'm tired. Less than 6 hours interrupted sleep will do that. Keith will get less sleep if we go ahead with our plans for today. We're supposed to go to Ikea today. To get a bed frame. We're on a quest to get a new bed. The only hitch is that the frame we're looking at has about 4 boxes to it and won't fit in T's truck. So we'll have to borrow his parents truck. They live half an hour away - in the wrong direction. A lot of travelling. So let's re-cap. Two cranky adults who haven't got enough sleep need to travel approximately 3 - 4 hours in total, lug 4 heavy boxes up 2 flights of stairs, oh and the weather is rather unpedictable today. Last night they issued a snow squall altert for the next 36 hours or something insane like that. Keith's parents live in the country so the roads are even dicier.

Keith is supposed to get up for 1 and we'll judge the weather conditions then decide whether to go to Ikea or not today.

Well I think I shall go and mapquest our directions and then do the butt load of dishes waiting for me in the kitchen. Oh joy.

10:04 a.m. - 2006-02-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen