curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

....and the truth shall set you free

Is winter over yet? Seriously I am so done with it. If we could just get out of this cold snap I would be a whole lot happier. The sun? Nice. The extreme minus 20 temps not so nice.

I went out this afternoon and while I was driving around with my shades on I could pretend that the weather was springlike and all was well. Until I got where I was going and had to get out of the car - back to reality. I was upset with the hubby when I left. We have both been in our own little worlds this weekend - him playing his new computer game me reading my books. So today I thought he should come out while we dropped off our movies from last night and do a little grocery shopping. He wanted to go to bed. I was okay as long as he really was going to bed but if he was sending me off to play more of his game I was gonna be pissed. He was in bed once I got home so I guess I'm gonna have to believe him.

Truth Time:

So on Friday when I got home from work I finally told the hubby my big dark secret that has been burning a hole in my gut for the last few weeks. I pretty much started the coversation by saying those exact words. I think I made him really nervous - as if I was going to confess to committing adultry or something (of course now I know how to break things to him - play them over the top so it's not all that bad). I told him that I bought Michael Bolton tickets for May 19th. He took it very well. Although he wasn't all that thrilled since he said the last time we went (his first time) would be it. But when I got the email a few weeks ago that they were going on sale that morning for fan club members only I just had to buy them! I went through an angonizing period where I didn't know what time zone I was in! The tickets were being sold in pacific apparently I'm eastern (uh I think). Yah so I did get it figured out and voila I bought them. I don't find out any seating info until the day of the concert when we pick them up. But they're within rows 1 - 8 so that's cool. I'm guessing 8th row. I still cannot believe I'm going. I am so relieved to be able to talk about it now. My only worry at the moment is the fact that it's the Thursday before the May 2-4 long weekend. I'm gonna have to take the Friday off since the concert is 2 1/2 hours away. I'm gonna have to email my boss first thing tomorrow morning to ask for it off. I'm just hoping no one else has asked for it since we're going to be stupidly short staffed soon and asking for time off is gonna be tricky - she won't be able to let as many people off as normal.

So tonight's tv listings look craptastic. Nothing's on. I may have to resort to reading more of my books!

On the mouse/monster front so far so good. Of course it never counts when the hubby is home cause obviously the mouse doesn't like men. The sonic thingy is still plugged in and working as far as I know.

Our new mattress arrived on Saturday. The thing is feather light. Normally since our stairway is too narrow and turny to get furniture up we have to haul it over the side with some good rope and muscle strength. One of the delivery guys ended up going on our downstairs neighbours deck and tossing it up to Keith and the other delivery guy - smooth. Although getting our old mattress and box spring down went a little less smooth. The mattress was super heavy but the boys got it down and took it away for us. Keith and I decided to break out our new pillows that we received as a wedding gift - also obus forme. I can't say I slept all that well on the new mattress. I think it was the pillow though. It felt way too high but when I switched back to my old pillow it felt way too low (hello goldy locks). I'm never happy. I'm hoping to wear the new pillow in a little.

I lost my work badge. This upsets me to no end. I am way to sentimental over inanimate objects! It just saddens me that the badge I've had for almost 7 years is now gone. I'll get one to replace it at work with my old picture and all but...it's just not the same. I'm stupid. I keep looking in places I know it can't/won't be. But I'll have to fill out a form on Monday for a new one. I normally keep my badge in my winter coat. I keep the pocket zipped...so you know it won't fall out. Well last weekend was our Ikea weekend. We went to Keith's parents and traded vehicles so we could pick up our new bedframe. After pulling in their driveway we managed to get the car caught in a snow drift. After some pushing we finally got it out. I only had my sweater on during all this. As we switched vehicles I grabbed my coat from the car and I remember it was upside down cause I was grabbing a bunch of stuff from the back seat. I'm kind of thinking it may have fell out then. No point in asking Keith's parents to look for it cause their yard is filled with white snow...my badge is mainly white. It may get found in the spring or it may never been seen again.

I bought a cooked chicken for dinner. Lazy. But I'll make some potatoes and the asparagus we bought last week but forgot to eat so it will still be a good dinner. We splurged for the first time in weeks maybe months last night and went and picked up chinese. It was some good chinese. This week may be a bad week food wise. A few different things going on that may require eating out (shhh haven't mentioned it to the hubby yet).

So T told me the amount of money she'll be getting from her dad's insurance. 50 grand. That's some serious cash. There's a very small part of me that's jealous (over the cash duh). T and her man already live in a gorgeous house and do decently well for themselves. They have hardships like everyone else but this money could be play money for them...it most likely won't but a chunk of it can. I can't help and think how if Keith and I had just a quarter of that cash we could afford to buy a house. Sometimes it seems like a dream that is so far off that it's unattainable.

Lately people have been asking me 'how's married life?'. I normally answer "it's okay - can't complain". What I really want to say? "It's great. I love being married. I love coming home to the man that I love more than life itself. I love knowing that if I have a bad day he'll be there to give me a hug and a kiss. If my day is really bad he'll hold me while I cry. He makes me laugh all the time and I like to think I make him laugh too. We bicker and knit pick at eachother but I know that he'll always be there for me; always. Instead I just say "it's okay...."

5:06 p.m. - 2006-02-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen