curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Buyer's Remorse?

So many topics floating about this head of mine today. Let�s start with the biggest one � the one that made me lose some sleep shall we?

Buyer�s Remorse. I think the hubby and I both may be suffering from it this morning. Let�s start at the beginning. Last week the hubby took a call and wrote down some details and confirmed we would be there. Apparently he answered a travel survey and a few days later they called and offered him free vouchers to a restaurant�..all he had to do was bring his wife and listen to a seminar on traveling. Easy peasy right? Yah that�s what we thought. We�d go in, listen, decline and snag our free vouchers. Half way through the presentation I knew we were in trouble. This was sounding good � real good. It was cheap vacations pretty much anytime anywhere. Of course there were conditions � they couldn�t promise that during high traffic times you could go to your chosen destination for cheap. But overall it was making sense (and of course money wasn�t mentioned at this point).

As an aside let me just mention that yesterday I started an entry yesterday but didn�t finish it cause it was kind of depressing. I started out by saying that I felt like I was serving a jail sentence � rather than life in prison � it was life at work. The same job for the next 30 odd years. It depressed the hell out of me. I had this overwhelming urge to run away � run away and travel. See the world. Get out there � live life!

So you can see how last night�s presentation hit a nerve. Years of vacations floated before my eyes. It was almost tangible. I could see the hubby and I jetting off to the Dominican, Hawaii, Florida, Las Vegas all for low low prices! I could feel the sun on my skin, feel all my cares melting away.

Long story short (too late?) we fell for it hook, line and sinker. For the low price of $5900 (knocked downed to $4900 for us cause we were almost under 30!) we were now a member. They even offered financing � so we could take our time paying over the next five years. While reading the many pages of fine print (cause they didn�t want you signing everything without reading it over) I came across the $24 a month fee that I had forgotten about. So we�d be paying roughly $5000 to be a member and then $300 for the rest of our lives every year. We�re now in the middle of doing the math and seeing if we�ll even come out ahead � ever. Keith was poring over the documents when I left for work this morning.

Now here�s the real crux of the matter. I�m still not sure if we made a bad move. I mean I know this is a lot of money we�re talking about. But when I walked into work this morning and sat in my cube suddenly last night seemed like a smart move. Suddenly the thought of taking at least 2 vacations (and cheap ones to boot) a year seemed like a wise idea. If not for any other reason than my mental health.

I hope it�s just a phase that I�m going through with my job. I don�t really like this feeling of being trapped. The pay is good (not great but decent) and the benefits are excellent (especially since Keith doesn�t have any). I never thought I would be the kind of person to go on about benefits when I got older � my how things change.

Yah so I�m not sure what will happen with this vacation. I guess we�ll just have to talk more about it and see what we figure out.

Oh and just to add to this whole tangle of emotions � last night before we went to sleep I started talking about �the randomness of life�. And how nothing is guaranteed. How I could walk to work step too far out on the curb or not look in one direction and get smucked by a car and killed. I went on with different examples for several minutes. I admitted to Keith that I think about death a lot � probably once a day. It�s just always there for me. Always has been. I�m not morbid just more of a paranoid worry wart. I pity my unborn child(ren).

On a lighter topic�.literally�.the pants I�m wearing today make me feel as if I�ve lost weight. I don�t really remember them being this lose but I kind of doubt I�ve lost any dramatic weight for this to happen. It may not be anything but at least it makes me feel good in my skin for one day. (And it makes me not want to wash them�or at least make sure they don�t go in the dryer!)

10:30 a.m. - 2006-03-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen