curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dare to dream

Just call me cookie�..monster that is. It seems that people have been putting out bags of cookies left, right and centre around the office lately! So being the cookie lover I am I usually take one (or more likely two) and bag them up and save them for my coffee breaks. Lord I need a hobby � and not to like cookies so much!

Speaking of hobbies - I managed to get hold of my disks with my writing on them and since reception is quiet lately I�ve had time to go back and read some of the stuff I wrote. See, I started writing one book when I was about 16 years old I think (man that was so long ago!). I went to a concert with my brother and I wasn�t all that into the music I just wanted to be there experiencing it all. Anyway I started writing this story in my head and eventually on paper. Over time I added to it � edited it � etc. Haven�t finished it mind you. Although I am almost done. In fact now that I think about it I�m probably only 20 pages or so away from being done. That�s a lot of words. It still has a lot of editing to do cause at the time I was having problems with the sex scenes. Especially writing them at work cause that just ain�t cool. There I would be writing these erotic things getting flushed and bam someone would call or walk up to me. I also wrote part of this novel at my old job too. Can you imagine if I had written this novel with no interruptions � oh the possibilities. Anyway I guess at one point I had writers block or just wasn�t feeling the vibe of the book or something so I started another. Yah my bad. Of course this one was a historical romance (complete opposite of the first). This is the book I started reading today at reception. There�s only 130 odd pages but wow I�m impressing myself and I wrote it! I�m at page 44 right now in reading it. I get so engrossed in reading my novel that when someone interrupts me it�s like coming out of a daze. Don�t get me wrong it�s a very rough copy - a lot of grammatical and spelling errors. The sad thing is I don�t know what will happen once (if) I ever finish writing either of these books. I am so chicken about going any further. Rejection is part of the game I realize that. I have even gone so far as to research publishing places like Harlequin etc. and have printed out the guidelines. But part of me wonders if I�ll ever have the guts to pursue this dream of mine. I have fantasies galore of what it would be like to try and publish the book (and of course they always work out in the end � I�m nothing if not a happy ending kind of person). But that ain�t how it works in the real world. I know this.

Writing at home really isn�t an option right now. We don�t have a proper desk � in fact we don�t have a desk period � well for the main computer anyway. It�s a chair and a keyboard on your lap. It�s okay for short periods of time but not for long ones if you plan on being able to move freely without hearing your body creak when you try and stand upright.

Speaking of creaking (yes I�m leaving the topic of writing for now) I�ve noticed a disturbing trend when I�ve been working out at the gym lately on a certain machine. Almost the whole time my body �creaks�. It�s a little disconcerting. I can see for a few minutes until my body gets used to the motion but the whole 30 minutes � that is not right. I have never used this machine before so that may be why. In fact I�m not even sure what this machine does. It reminds me of the Tony Little machine he�s hawking right now � the gazelle. Except less fancy and more bulky. It�s hard to describe but it gets my heart rate up so I guess that�s a good thing.

Well I think I shall get back to my interesting reading now. The best part is I can�t remember what happens in the story I wrote (it was a few years ago) so it�s actually like reading a real book to me!

3:09 p.m. - 2006-03-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen