curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's been a long time coming...

So I almost wrote an entry on Monday about how I didn�t want to come into work on Tuesday (but I didn�t want to jinx it). And guess what? I didn�t come into work on Tuesday! Yup, that�s right I finally played hooky with the hubby! I told him Monday night that I didn�t want to go in tomorrow and I wanted to do something fun. He said �okay�. Normally he gives me grief. Of course he also named his price for doing this � let�s just say he wanted 2 �jobs� done for him. I agreed but as per normal never did �pay up�. My bad. At least he knows that I don�t usually make the payments. You can�t force these things folks they just have to happen naturally. Now maybe if he had whipped out the frosting again things may have been different�but I digress.

I woke up at my normal time � called in sick and promptly fell back to sleep till 9:45. Oh yah right before my alarm woke me up I had been dreaming about calling in sick! Even in my dreams I feel guilty. So I got up, thought briefly of being a good girl and going to the gym, decided against it cause �duh� it�s my �fun day off�. I did get up off my butt around 11 o�clock and did some dishes and then made some chocolate cup cakes. The hubby woke just as they were done. I was worried that we would have an �aimless� day and that my hooky day would be for naught. But I am very happy to say I was wrong!

The hubby took charge and ordered me to shower and get dressed (yes ordered!). I was told to wear comfy clothes and shoes. We drove across town and I was a little worried cause I didn�t know where we were heading. Finally I clued in � we went and �did lunch� at Boston Pizza. We both had never been to the one and only in our area. It wasn�t bad. The food was okay but nothing to write home about. But we sat on the patio in the sunny afternoon while everyone else was working so I was quite happy. After that the hubby told me I was going to be driving cause I always drove whenever we went here. That�s when I clued in and guessed we were going to the Falls! For some reason we can�t seem to get enough of this place! Even though we spend buckets of money and I take tons of pictures each and every time we both never tire of going there.

We parked for $5 on the strip which was a very good deal. It was then that I noticed that they are putting in a ferris wheel right on the strip! I cannot wait to ride that puppy! We took a walk down to the Falls (tried to take a million pictures of the elusive rainbow) and then decided to journey behind the falls since it was gorgeous weather out and not very many people (the perfect day!). We snapped more pictures (got the digital a little wet � whoops) and then headed back up to dry land to warm ourselves up (cold cold water down there). We then wandered some more and finally I had to pay the exorbitant price for some Tylenol (I had a headache all day from sleeping on my new pillow � a little too firm for my poor neck). We then headed down to the Hershey store and shared a very sweet brownie dessert and a cookie (yah welcome calories!). After that we spent a butt load of money to play mini putt, ride the Spiderman ride and play some arcade games (although one of the games I played � some spinny thing that spit out however many tickets for the number you landed on � was a bit off and kept spitting out more tickets than I was supposed to get!). I think we ended up with a shot glass as our chosen prize for all our tickets (which is really quite good considering most of the prizes under that were tiny plastic prizes that were worth nothing). The mini putt was SO bad. It was new (really new) and the ball would get stuck in places that were supposed to obviously be covered up or blocked off (and they were totally off on their �par� for the holes. The first one was a par 2 and I think we both did it in about 8 shots � and we�re known for our mini putt skills!). Worse was the spiderman ride � worst ride ever.

Yah so after that we decided to blow out of town cause it was already 8 o�clock. I had resisted the urge to buy stuff all day! Although we did buy the cheesy picture of us at the Journey behind the falls � we were both smiling AND Keith�s eyes were open! Although it was quite funny cause you stand in front of a green screen and Keith�s shirt was exactly the same colour! They had to change his shirt color or else I�d be standing beside a head and arm and legs � I would have loved to seen the before picture!

Before we hit the highway we stopped at a grocery store (I love that we know where everything is in that city!) and bought a 24 of water and some snacks (one apple, 2 bananas and a package of pepperoni sticks). I was SO thirsty but I�m stubborn in the fact that I refuse to pay $2.50 for one bottle of water! For only 30 cents more we bought 24 bottles!

Anywho, it was a great day and I am so glad we did it. It�s good for the soul to goof off every now and then. Although I did feel a little guilty cause so many people asked me if I was feeling better today! Thank goodness I was already red from the weekend otherwise they may have noticed my �healthy glow�. I did wake up to a weird dream though. In my dream I was yelling at my dad because he was upset with all the phone books lying around and I totally went off on him about how heavy they would be if I put them in the recycling box and carried it to the curb. Very bizarre.

I was fiddling within d-land earlier and stumbled on the link that shows how many people have you as favourites. I clicked on it and was surprised to find 10 people! Albeit a few of those I know no longer read but it was quite cool. Now that I�ve said that I�ll go back and check in another 6 months and they�ll all be gone! But what do you do. Good think I write for myself. Heh.

My Avon order came in today. This makes me very happy. Granted the price that I owe doesn�t make me happy but I love me some new creams and lotions � especially for these terribly dry hands � my nails look disgusting! I can�t stop picking at the skin beside the nail. It�s a habit. A bad one that I must try and stop.

So we are back to being broke. Taxes were due this past Monday. As expected Keith had to pay a little over $3500 but what we hadn�t anticipated was actually paying it that day (or at least I hadn�t). So our accountant called (man that sounds so grown up!) and faxed me a special form so I had to go on my lunch hour all the way down stairs to the bank (heh) and pay this exuberant amount (buh-bye house fund!). In better news I apparently get a refund of $500 so that makes me quite happy. Of course in less than 5 days we will owe just under $10,000 for the rest of his taxes. Hello poor street!

I did make an appointment with a person at the bank to talk about getting pre-approved for a mortgage but then that night Keith and I talked it over and decided to wait a few months till we at least get some money stocked away again till we make an appointment � Hi give us a mortgage � we apparently have absolutely no money to our name! Thanks!

Well I should probably go do some work now. Plus this is a really long entry.

I brought in mini-muffins today. They only bake 5 at a time for 6 minutes. I had about 20 or so. I had to give all the credit to Keith though cause I was �supposed� to be off sick yesterday. Never fails � but they were quite a hit.

2:02 p.m. - 2006-05-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen