curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A little Thunder and Lightening

This death thing stinks. I never had animals growing up. I'm quite glad for that now. We got Thunder, our dog, when I was a teenager. She was rescued from old ladies who used her as a guard god and kept her muzzled and chained to a radiator. She was the gentlest dog but still scared the crap out of me - at first. Eventually I came to love her and she was my first real pet. Over the years she 'moved' in with my aunt and uncle to protect my aunt when she was left alone for days at time when my uncle went on the road. She became a little less my dog but I still loved her and she was excited whenever she saw us. One weekend when my mom and dad were up at the property Thunder came over to my parents early one morning and my dad sat with her and petted her while she took her last breath.

During the beginning of the whole Thunder saga there was a small white bundle of fur that somehow ended up in our family's driveway. We took her in and voila we had a cat too - Lightening. Yes we were very creative. Lightening has always been an outdoor cat. One of her favourite pasttimes used to be laying on the road - she has now tamed down to laying on the driveway instead. She can be a very affectionate cat with a purr of a locomotive. Then in the next second she will dig her claws in your lap and jump down. Clipping her claws somehow became one of my jobs over the years. I never had any experience and she would fight tooth and nail against getting it done so normally it would take 2 people to do the job. One of her favourite tricks was for someone to walk by and rub her belly with their foot, she would lay there and purr and then upon getting tired of that suddenly grab at your foot with all her paws and start 'fighting' with you. Funny but 'ow'. When my dad gets up in the morning she walks around his feet the whole time mowing for her 'special' treat for breakfast (a small amount of wet cat food). When my mom gets up a little while later she does the whole routine over again and gets the same result.

I accepted the fact this weekend that Lightening won't be with us that much longer. She has became so scrawny and is no longer taking care of herself - cleaning and such. I took a good look at her today and her eyes were dimmed.

During the service today at church in the moment of prayed I added Lightening to my prayers - I hope when she does pass away it will be peaceful.

This is why I am glad I never had pets while growing up.

10:00 p.m. - 2006-06-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen