curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cottage Livin'

This wearing a bra all day sucks! Yup I�m back from vacation. This is not to say I went braless while on vacation (that would be scary for all involved) rather I wore a sports bra or bathing suit pretty much the whole time I was off. Pure bliss.

Alrighty, with that out of the way I shall continue. The week off in cottage country was great. I gave it an 8.5 out of 10 but the hubby only gave it a 6.5 out of 10. He said that by day 3 or 4 he was ready to leave (he�s not one to relax without a computer or tv) but me on the other hand, I could sit and read and relax in the sun for days on end. We also ran into a �bumpy� time when it came to a certain game that was played. I�m not sure if I mentioned or not but the hubby used to be into D and D big time as a youngster and relished the thought of playing it at the cottage. Apparently it was pretty much his whole focus for going on vacation. He spent a lot of time creating an �adventure� for all of us. I, on the other hand, figured it would be a one off kind of thing. Play once or twice and then be done with it. Can you see where this is heading? Heads butted. It wasn�t pretty.

Not only was I accused of �not giving it a fair shot� many times by everyone but we seemed to always play when we were at our crankiest. I just really don�t get the whole �role playing� aspect of it. I don�t enjoy it � period. It�s not my thing. I didn�t roll my eyes or make fun of it but I just couldn�t get into it. I had to be prompted � a lot. The final straw came Thursday, the day before we were to leave. It had been an overcast day for the most part so for some reason the rest of my posse decided it would be a good idea to play D and D. I told them that I would only if it was outside (I was nothing if not optimistic that the sun would return). The sun did indeed return but not until we were back at our cabin, changed out of swimsuits (chilly) and sitting in the shade cause that�s where our porch was in location to the sun. I happened to see the rest of the map that Keith was slowly copying during our adventure and made a comment about how much left we had to do � in other words the rest of our afternoon and most of our evening would be shot. No sooner were the words out of my mouth that Keith started chewing me out for looking and then my brother started in on me for not �giving it a chance�. I then retorted that I had only had 3 hours of restless sleep the night before and therefore was quite cranky, my normally funny brother than made the mistake of telling me that at least I could be �tactful� when complaining. WTF?! My younger brother and I have rarely, if ever, had words not since we were kids. So this stung � a lot. I was about to explode off his head like I would normally with Keith (wow that makes me sound psycho but whatever) instead I threw my pencil across the deck, got up and stormed off into the cabin and slammed our bedroom door. It was all I could do to breath I was so pissed and upset. And of course the kicker is nobody came to see how I was. Nobody came to talk to me to make it better which of course left me even pissier. So after an hour of laying there getting angrier and angrier I got up, grabbed my camera, walked outside, saw they were all playing a card game (crib) and just took off mumbling about taking some pictures and not looking anyone in the eye. I cannot remember a time I was so upset except when I used to date R many years ago. I felt like nobody cared about my feelings. I spent the next hour and a half down by the water and just sat there and gazed out at my surroundings. Amazingly I did not cry and my anger faded. The water was very healing. I found a leaf beside me that had begun to turn colors and I played with it and took pictures of it and then when I was sitting on the dock I placed it gently on top of the water and watched it float away and then and only then did I feel like crying. I didn�t but I felt like it. I guess I was relating to the leaf a little too much. Floating out there all on it�s own. I did eventually go back to the cabin and dinner prep was beginning everyone said hi and Keith tried to see if I was still angry (my silence told him I wasn�t happy). Then my sil came in and gave me a hug and then the water works started (darn hugging!). I didn�t talk to her about it I just told her I was fine. After that things started to return to normal although there was a vibe that hadn�t been there the rest of the week and for that I regret my actions. I didn�t mean to put a damper on the week for anyone. I felt bad for all the work Keith had put into his adventure and knowing how much he loved it made me sad that I had ruined it. I did try though. I really wished I had enjoyed it as I know we would have had a ball but I couldn�t fake it. To this day I�m still not sure if I should have just faked it or not. Tis hard to say.

But the rest of the week was pretty harmonious except for the nights we played D and D in which case one of us was always cranky. We did drive one evening to go get all you can eat ribs. The drive was over an hour. It was a fun crazy drive that had us all laughing and giggling like idiots. The drive back was even more fun cause we had all stuffed ourselves silly and were griping about our full belly�s. That turned out to be the cause of my 3 hours of sleep. I tried going to bed at 1am like the rest of the group but my belly wasn�t having any of it so I stayed up till 2:30 reading and then finally went to bed and fall asleep only to wake up at 5:30 feeling worse than ever. I so wanted to hurl but since I can�t (refuse) I spent the next 2 hours sitting in a chair wishing I was dead. Finally at 7:30 I layed down but only drifted lightly while everyone began to get up. It explains a lot into my actions later that afternoon.

I did realize over the course of the week that I am the type of person who could totally vacation by herself when it involves doing nothing. I LOVE sitting on a beach in a nice chair and just reading gossip magazines and a stack of novels and then when the sun gets too warm getting up and jumping into the water swimming out to the floating dock and doing a few dives off it and then swimming back to shore to sit in my chair once again. Rinse and repeat. I could do that for a week no problem. And I did for the most part. A lot of times I was the only one out of 4 of us down there and I didn�t care. I was content. I�m sure I�d get lonely eventually but until that point it would be all good. Too bad they didn�t have a place where the guy could play D and D all day while the wife spent the day in the sun � the hubby and I would get along famously!

The day we left it was overcast and threatening rain which was okay by me cause it didn�t make leaving too hard. The drive both ways was really good � we skipped Toronto which helped a lot. Rather than go home first we headed straight to Rib Fest and spent the evening again eating ribs (this time not all you can eat) but we did leave stuffed! If I hadn�t had the fries I would have felt a lot better. We finally got home from our vacation at 9:30pm. By 11:30 my head was on the pillow snoring happily away.

On Saturday the hubby had to go to a Bachelor party. Poor thing. He had to go look at naked women. And not only were they going to a strip club they were staying there too! The best man had rented a suite above the club. I can�t say that I was happy about this but since I trust my guy I didn�t gripe too much about it. Although of course he got some good lovin� a couple of times before he left! T came over that night to keep me company and we ended up getting dolled up and going to my favourite country bar. T�s top was scandalous! She got so many looks I couldn�t help but laugh at all the whiplash the guys were getting from ogling her! Kinda funny but at the same time I couldn�t help but feel like her frumpy side kick. Especially when the snap on my jeans broke so I couldn�t even suck in my gut when the men walked by in case my pants started to unzip. But I still had a pretty good time and each time I go to the bar I always leave VERY thankful that I have my husband.

We got back home just after 2am and the hubby and I texted back and forth for a while and he told me that he had tried calling me a few times that night�..ahhhh he missed me even while he was watching strippers! He even came home at 7am mostly because the check out time was 10am but I like to pretend it was because he missed me so bad. Oh what also didn�t help the whole side kick feeling, the bachelor party Keith was at wanted T to come and join them � just T. Hello chop liver! I know that it�s really cause I�m Keith�s wife and that�s a no-no but still it stings.

Which would have been perfect motivation for getting up this morning and walking but instead I layed in bed the extra half hour. I�m not even gonna get into the whole �weight� thing right now (no time!).

But I will end this entry on a positive note. I experienced one of those �perfect moments� during our vacation. It was a nice clear night kinda cool but not cold. We had told the lodge we would like a camp fire that night (they provide the wood) but when we went down there was none waiting. The boys went to the lodge but it had just closed for the night but the guy behind the counter was nice and said he wouldn�t mind bringing us some. We spent the next couple of hours laughing, singing along with my brother�s amazing guitar playing (seriously, he could barely play Happy Birthday this time last year on it!). And at one point my bro and sil were singing and Keith and I were gazing at the stars and out of the corner of eye I saw a shooting star and it was just�.magical. Everything at that one moment of time felt just right. Those moments are rare for me. My last was in Mexico sitting on the balcony while my ex was inside watching tv (winner) and I was listening to a MB song watching one of the most amazing sunsets I have ever seen in my life and again life just felt so right. I was just filled with the most amazing emotions. It was powerful. Hard to explain but I can still conjure the feeling if I try hard enough.

I long for more of those moments. I will speak of the �red headed� woman tomorrow as now it is home time � finally!

4:37 p.m. - 2006-08-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen