curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We made it a Year!

Well look-y there one year ago today I married the man of my dreams - whom I met on the internet - my how life can be amusing!

I won't go all nostalgic since it's all in the archives of this diary anyway.

But I will talk about the present! What a weekend. By accident I found out from the hubby that we were exchanging gifts - whoops - I thought we would just do a card thing. He had made a joke about needing a new watch and then said hint hint. Um yah of course - gift exchange! And as life has a way of doing I had no time all week to go and get anything. I figured my only time would be Friday morning while Keith slept and I would slip out to the mall. I got up a bit later than planned thanks to staying up late packing the night before. I was quiet as a mouse leaving as the hubby was partially awake and it was imperative I go to the mall alone! My mission was accomplished and then some since I found a cute little outfit for moi as well! As well as a b-day or x-mas gift for my younger brother - I had the shopping vibe going on! I got back home and the hubby surprised me by being up and showered - he had actually got up within minutes of my leaving - talk about nerve wracking and good timing!

We packed the car, stopped for lunch and then continued on our journey to the hotel - we would have made it in pretty good time except T dot is filled with MANY 'do not turn' signs. Turns that we desperately needed to make in order to get to our hotel. But we did pretty good I must say and found our hotel which looked totally different than the picture on the internet. We were able to get our room before check-in time and I was deliriously happy that we got one of the few rooms with a balcony. After unpacking (I love doing that when I stay in a hotel!) and then checking the hotel out we decided to take a walk on the strip since our hotel was right downtown. We ended up wandering to the Eaton Centre and spent a few hours wandering this huge mall. We (meaning I) purposely ended up at one of my favourite eats in the mall - Mr Green Jeans. This place and I go way way back (before I was old enough to legally drink and my friend S and I would have 'virgin' frozen cocktails and thought it the best thing since sliced bread). Keith wasn't all that hyped on going but took pity on his wife and agreed. He changed his tune once he had his awesome soup and a plate full of buffalo chips (which was the only thing I had cause they are da bomb). Oh I also had a chocolate shake to go with it and YUM does not even come close to the feelings that meal evoked within me. After our very filling 'snack' we wandered back to the hotel (with a few more stops along the way) and once back it was swimmin' time for moi. I threw a bit of a hissy fit when the hubby declined to join me but I went alone and ended up having a luverly time solo. Once back at the room we finally had some excellent relations. With our appetite again awakened (ha) we headed back out to walk the strip to look for a place to eat. This wasn't meant to be as 90% of the restaurants were some form of thai and we both weren't in the mood for it. The one place that looked promising was jam packed so finally an hour and a half after we had left our room we decided to grab subs and bring them back. This turned out to be just fine cause it was a gorgeous night to walk and by the time we got food we were both good and hungry. The hotel bed was one of the comfiest I have ever slept in. It was like sleeping on a cloud! The pillows could have been a wee bit firmer but that's my only complaint!

Saturday we were up bright and early - not by design but it worked out for the best. After a swim with both of us in attendance we got dressed for the day and headed out to find some breakfast. Little did we know that T dot sleeps in on Saturday's! Nothing was open until 11am! It was 9:30. We settled for some bagels and juice at tim's and then headed on our adventure with the TTC system.

Oops I forgot to mention one very important event from the night before. We opened our presents! I gave the hubby a sweater along with a watch. The watch I gave the hubby turned out to be the exact same one he had! He loved it though and refused my offer to exchange it for a different one (his is on it's last legs). I had no idea I had bought the same one - it was too weird. Keith didn't have a gift for me just a card BUT this time inside the card was the most exquisite white gold necklace with a floating heart pendant on it. I don't know if I'm describing it that well but it is exquisite. I was very proud of the hubby for not only getting me jewlery but finding something so beautiful. I find myself playing with it all the time.

Okay so after our bk we managed to find the subway - get our day passes and figure out our route - we were on our way to the Science Centre. Okay it doesn't sound all that exciting but trust me it was very fun. We started off watching a movie in the Omnimax theatre and wow was that very cool. It felt like we were in the movie. Incredible.

By 2:30 we were beat (4 1/2 hours!) and headed back to the hotel where we had a nap and then got ready for our evening entertainment - Medieval Times. We cabbed it there and back which which took the pressure off of finding the place and paying for parking. In line we were behind seven very rambunctious girls with the only adult being one of the girls' father. My head was spinning by the time we were out of the line and I sighed a sigh of relief once inside and away from them. Once they let everyone in and directed them to their appropriate table I noticed 8 empty chairs beside us. My heart began to beat triple time and when I heard the shrieks of delight I knew my worst nightmare had come true the tiny og's (obnoxious girls) were sitting beside us. To say it was hell on earth beside them would be far too dramatic but I will say it put a bit of a pall over the festivities. I was able to tune them out up until the exact moment the father bought all of the girls huge swords that lit up. I was actually hoping one of them would hit me accidentally so I could grab it and toss it into the ring. This may be my crankiness and tiredness speaking right now - but why do I want children again? All weekend I was plagued by screaming, crying, obnoxious children. Is the universe trying to tell me something?

Once back at the hotel we thought it would be a night cause the room had a very 'sleepy vibe' but we summoned up the energy to go out and once our lungs took in the fresh (ha) TO air we were once again revived and began to wander the streets. We ended up in a naughty store and I finally spent my b-day money on a naughty toy. We wandered some more and found a cute pub just in time for last call. We each had a drink and toasted our actual anniversary as it was after midnight. On the way back to the hotel the hubby was hungry (I swear he has a hollow leg) so we got a couple of slices of pizza to take back to the room. Of course they almost didn't make it as there was a wee bit of a altercation in the elevator but pizza and people came out intact.

This morning we awoke at 10 - well I did and thus the hubby too! While he lazed about waking up I headed to the pool for one last swim (by the end of the weekend my arms and legs had a sweet ache from all the swimming - sweet). All the walking we did probably didn't hurt either! After packing up and checking out we stored our bags in the car and headed out to find brunch. We went to the restaurant that had been too busy on the Friday. We were both relieved we didn't end up eating there Friday night as the food was a bit on the pricy side and the portions were left lacking. Of course the atmosphere was awesome so there you have it! On the way back to the hotel we again got sidetracked stopping at shops once again and spending even more money. Although it is interesting to point out that 90% of what we bought this weekend (besides food of course!) was gifts for other people.

We made it back to our palace a little after 3. Keith went to bed to rest up for work while I headed out to pick up a few groceries and look for a pair of black boots which have been eluding me for years now - and this quest will continue on as I found nuthin'. I did add air to my very low tire but that ain't all that exciting to anyone but me now is it?

Well I have been at this entry for way too long (in between 3 tv shows!) so I must end it now and go to bed - to bed I said. Salut.

10:53pm - 2006-10-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen