curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The High's and Low's of my day

I'm making cookies! Bad bad idea - not that they're bad just that I'm eating the damn dough! Ugh.

So. Yesterday was eventful. I awoke -weighed myself (down 9 pounds - woo), went to work, cabbed it to my appt. at 1 o'clock - felt my blood pressure go up as the cabbie went the wrong way and we caught every red light. A $4 cab ride turned into $10. At the clinic I went right in - no reading People magazine for me (dang) and then the lady hooked me up to a blood pressure cuff and clipped the recording device around my waist and boom less than 10 minutes later I was ready to go. That was the easy part.

Keith was able to drive me back to work as he had just finished up for the day. The drive back to work I was over emotional (hi aunt flo!) and felt like crying. I had worked myself up over this stupid bp thing and had to calm myself. I did - the tim's coffee helped! So I got to be the centre of attention at our team meeting - every so often you would hear this bzzzzz as my cuff began to inflate then psssssst as it deflated and then beeped. Fun times. I will admit this was amusing for the first hour or so...and then...it got old...real fast.

I had decided not to go bellydancing but then changed my mind after I realized that 1) I needed the exercise and 2) the cuff wasn't as awkward as I thought it would be. Although #2 turned out to not be true. The cuff was awkward especially when it went off and I had to stand still or suffer the cuff trying over and over again and turning my arm purple - not fun at all. But I survived - that part. The worst was trying to sleep last night and I emphasize the word trying. Oh good God every hour or so the cuff would inflate and go through the whole process. I, in turn, would roll over adjust myself and the machinery and try and fall asleep - every bloody hour!

This morning the cuff went off yet again and I glanced over at my alarm clock to find out that my alarm had been turned down way low and had gone off several minutes ago - I panicked and made to get up - whoops the cuff wasn't done - had to start the cycle all over again! After it finished I ripped that sucker off and felt SO good.

I had been worried about 2 more taxi rides but my co-worker offered to meet me at 8 at work and drive me to and from the clinic. He even had a coffee for me when I met up with him! So we ditched my gear and headed back to work only a few minutes late. The lab said they would have the results to my doctor on Tuesday so it should be interesting to see when (or if!) my doctor will contact me!

Today turned out to be a lot harder than I thought it would be. I was so very tired. My head had that fuzzy feeling and I wanted nothing more than to lay my head down and sleep. I kept making stupid silly mistakes. I can honestly say I barely got any work done all day.

Part of this reason was due to the fact that my sil and I decided to forgo x-mas gifts for eachother and instead go to the theatre to see Wicked. I told her once we figured out a date I would book the tickets. Normally this would be fine but today - with half a brain - it took me for freakin' ever. First I wasn't too pleased where our seats would be (but we are booking our tickets for one month from now) and I hmmed and hawwed about whether we should book or not. Then I called myself an idiot and decided to just do it. Of course I then forgot my password to ticketmaster and couldn't for the life of me remember it or find it. So I ended up calling which worked out even better cause the tickets we got were better than what online offered. I sent this long email to my sil apologizing for taking forever and sending her a bunch of emails unnecessarily.

Finally my day was over and I left work with piles of paper all over my desk and endless tasks to continue with on Monday. But I had never been so happy to leave. 14 hour days are not my thing (or 8 - whatever).

I came home to a hubby just as exhausted as I was (apparently my tossing and turning had kept him awake as well - not the sound of my cuff though which I find hard to believe). The hub made us some dinner (minus veggies which freaked me out) and then he toddled off to bed - after we watched Survivor (which totally rocked!). Now that brings us up to the present in which I am slaving away in the kitchen making cookies for Keith's family reunion on Sunday. After the first batch I was sure that I wouldn't have enough but now afer the 3rd it is clear I have too many! I was going to make 2 kinds but I have since changed my mind. Especially since the hubby will be making cheesecake as well.

Yah so tomorrow I'm supposed to be in our town parade. T is going to pick me up at 8 and then I get to do a whole bunch of hurry up and wait! Then stand on a float for 2 hours waving. Last year I had T's mom to keep me company while T was running around gettin' stuff done. This year I'm solo. I'm not that psyched about it right now but it could be the tiredness talking.

Speaking of which I am so going to bed early! It sucks cause I don't know when I'll be able to go to the gym this weekend. Tonight I was going to try and squeeze it in then common sense hit me and I realized I really shouldn't run myself down to try and be 'healthy'. Irony. Ah well I guess as long as I don't eat all the cookies I just baked and start eating some veggies this weekend I should be okay.

Time to go find containers for all these cookies. And then bed! Man I'm old.

8:43 p.m. - 2006-11-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen