curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Perceptions

Yesterday I woke up in a fairly good mood (not great cause hey I ain�t a morning person). I got up, dressed in a black pair of dress pants, a black t-shirt (a bit more form fitting than I usually wear) and a white sweater (it�s crochet like and quite pretty). I felt like a million bucks. I got told a few times how good I was looking and how my current weight loss was really showing. The world was mine.

Today I awoke, tired as usual but I was almost giddy with anticipation � it was weigh in day! I have started looking forward to stepping on the scale each week to monitor my weight loss. I stepped on this morning (after peeing of course, didn�t need those pesky ounces adding up). My elation turned to deflation as the scale showed the same numbers as last week � maybe even dare I say it .2 of a pound extra! Suddenly that confident nature I have been walking around with vanished in one fell swoop.

I dressed for work and this time I really didn�t care what I wore. I left my house late, not caring that I would be late for work. I plodded along. I have gone over in my head what I have done differently this last week than I did the first 2. If I�m truthful with myself I have been slipping. I have been giving in to temptation more than I care to admit. There have been valid reasons why I only made it to the gym 2x last week but it doesn�t make up for the lack of exercise.

Before I started inviting people over for my pity party I had to have a stern talking to with myself. I have lost 9 pounds. I have done really well with all this. It has been hard but not impossible. I am struggling daily with not having a little piece of chocolate here or there, a few pieces of the popcorn or pretzels that always seem to be at hand at work. I miss my starchy carbs like you would not believe.

Of course I blew all this self talk out of the water by taking my measurements and then when I came into work recording them on a little tracker I made in the summer. I am the same. I am down one inch on the hips only. I know it could be worse. I know I should concentrate on the good and not the bad. It�s just that this is the weight that I always seem to get stuck on. Over the summer when I recorded my weight faithfully it always fluctuated within 2 or 3 pounds (a few more pounds than I am now). I also think that part of this is a �mental� bloke. I need to just keep on pushing and get past this and to keep losing the weight. Push Push Push.

I made a list in my other diary about what I might have done to keep myself at the same weight and um yah it is kind of telling once you add it up. Mostly eating at the wrong times (too late), not snacking on enough veggies and letting myself be talked into eating things I know I shouldn�t be.

So I guess this is where I say enough is enough and just hunker down and get over this self imposed (mostly) mental weight loss bloke and just start going for the gold.

And just to end this entry on an upbeat note, last night I took my blood pressure at Shoppers and for the first time in a long time it was high-normal! This obviously isn�t great but it is now at least below �High�. Woo! I gotta be doing something right!

Pushin� onward!

12:41 p.m. - 2006-11-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen