curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Who knew Christmas meant family?

Okay let's see if I can pop out a quick entry eh?

Well here I sit nice and cozy at my bro and sil's apartment, drinking my first alcoholic beverage in over a week and eating white cheddar popcorn (that stuff is addictive!).

This has turned out to be one of the best x-mas's I have had in a long time. And not for the presents either cause they've been 'meh' - not great but not bad either. But just getting to spend so much time with my family has been a real treat. I know most people must think I'm insane!

We had a very nice x-mas with Keith's family. We arrived on the 23rd and spent the night. The next day we opened our gifts (awesome martini set I received as well as some other drinking related gifts) and then we had a delicious turkey dinner with all the fixin's. Rather than stay for dessert we headed off to our next destination - my parents. We made it there in excellent time even with all the slow poke drivers out there. I had enough time to take a shower and get all dolled up for the x-mas eve service (I REEKED of smoke - yuck).

Christmas morning we got up just before 8am and Keith and I opened presents with my parents. We had debated about waiting for our out of town family members to arrive later that afternoon but the kid in us all took charge and we ripped open our presents.

We had a huge family dinner (more turkey!) later on that afternoon and then opened the rest of our presents and spent time with the family. I didn't have the whole 'disconnect' feeling that I sometimes feel at family functions. Instead it was just fun times.

Keith and I stayed at my parents till Thursday and just wow. I didn't realize how much it would mean to me to be able to do that. No rushing to be somewhere - no watching the clock. Instead we relaxed, ate (a lot) and even managed to go on an unintentional 2 hour walk. We also went to my older nephew's hockey game (he's 4). We were watching these 4 year olds continually fall all over the ice (I haven't laughed so hard in ages) and it hit me just how much I missed my family. To be able to watch my nephew play hockey is something that I will treasure. It sucks living 2 hours away. It's the little things like watching hockey games and then heading back to their place and sharing pizza with my nephews and niece that are so ordinary and unspectacular but really mean a lot. I could go on but I'll stop.

After we left the little critters we headed off to do some running around and the 4 of us (my parents, Keith and I) ended up eating at my favourite chinese restaurant of all time. It's a tiny little place (compared to the huge buffets out there) but it has so much character and the food is well priced as well as de-lish. Oh yah we ate there pretty much after we left the sil's house - apparently 2 tiny pizza's for 8 people wasn't the smartest idea!

We played a LOT of scrabble while we were there and it was a ton of fun. It's weird cause I found out this week from my brother that his wife doesn't like to play with us cause we all do our own thing while playing. We interact and all but while it's not my turn I may go and do some laundry while my mom does some quick kitchen things. It's the things she hates the most that I love! I like how we're all together yet we multitask I guess. It just seems to make sense to me.

Leaving Thursday morning was pretty hard. I'm at the age where I really appreciate my parents and everything they do for me. Plus I knew my mom would miss me (us) a lot and I hate making her sad. We called when we got to Kingston and there was a sad tinge to her voice that just makes my heart ache thinking about. I'm hoping that it was the impending funeral she would be attending that was making her sad rather than me. Her old boss passed away and they were going to the visitation that afternoon.

But we arrived in Kingston safe and sound and just a little late. I had been obsessing over my eyebrows the moment we left home. I had run out of time to get them waxed (it was either a waxing or a massage and you know which one I chose!). So on our way to our next destination we stopped and I got mine done. The girl took a really long time cause I guess she was a perfectionist. But I was totally shocked when I looked in the mirror after they were done and she had told me she had kept the thickness (cause that's whats in don't ya know) and they were all but gone! But I've grown used to them like this and now really like them. I really need to learn the ediquette on tipping for getting my brows waxed. Do I? Don't I? How much?

Well I think I shall save my shenanigans in Kingston for another entry.

Oh and for the record I should note that our girls' night at C's kind of fizzed out. T emailed us that day at work telling us she was sick as a dog but would try to make it. She did make it but she barely ate and did not drink anything besides ginger ale. Needless to say the atmosphere was less than festive. Plus C had her new puppy driving her (us) crazy. It was peeing everywhere! But C and I watched it's a Wonderful Life after T left (C's first time seeing it) and we both cried. We then went to bed and I surprisingly slept pretty good till 8am. I also found my way to London to pick up Keith with no trouble at all (there was one telephone call to him but that was to confirm something - ahem).

Okay now I really must go the ice has melted in my drink and my belly would like something more substancial than popcorn. We have been eating like there's no tomorrow and I know it's done a number on my weight but I refuse to think about!

My sil is sick as a dog which sucks. She worked the first 2 days we were here and now her first day off and she's in bed all day! I have been successfully (knock on wood!!!) delaying a cold for a few days now with ecchinacea. Once we're back home and the cold wants to take me down then bring it on. But I am trying my darndest to not be sick when we ring in the new year!

See ya in 2007!

6:42 p.m. - 2006-12-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen