curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How can 'Free' be so expensive? Let me tell ya...

Do you hear that? THUD. THUD. THUD. That is me hitting my head repeatedly for being an idiot. I basically just threw away $50. Let me explain. A week ago I went into my personal email account and found an email from this site that lets you look at your old high school chums (most people would know this site as an ad for it pops up almost everywhere). I had signed up for the freebie part (basically you can do nothing but go into the site). I had an email telling me that someone had said hi and then asked me if I wanted to check who it was. Sure why not. But there�s a catch. In order to check you have to be a gold member and to be a gold member you have to pay! So I said thanks but no thanks. But then! Then they offered me FREE membership for 7 days! Well how could I resist? I had to find out my mystery salutation person. So I did. A normal, smart person would have then immediately cancelled the membership. I am not normal. I decided that I would take advantage of the FREE membership and check the site out. I didn�t cause I had no time. Do you see where this is going? I made a note to myself to cancel the membership on the weekend. The weekend came and went. I didn�t cancel it. Why? Cause our internet connection went belly up. We have no internet at home. Yesterday I decided that I would just cancel it from work. Didn�t happen. Why? The site was blocked by Security. This morning I came into work and found a big ol� Thanks For Your Money email from this site�.for $39 US! GAH! That has taught me a damn lesson. Free definitely does not mean Free!

The hubby doesn�t know yet. We were chatting a bit about it yesterday and he was all �I told you so� cause he had told me to cancel right away. But I decided that he cannot hold this over my head because he fried not one but two memory cards for our camera. The first time we got our $50 back but the second time (after he realized why our camera kept frying it) he refused to bring it back (some male pride I�m not sure). So now we�re square. And out $100.

Um yah let�s move on shall we? So yah I didn�t have my normal Sunday update due to the lack of the internet. We have no idea why at first we thought it was weather related. Now Keith has to do his man thing and get it fixed. You don�t realize how often you go on the computer when you can�t.

Our Sunday was spent mostly lazing in bed after being up for a while in the morning and freezing our buns off while sitting in the living room. Finally around 2:30 we were starving and cold so we jumped into the hot hot shower and then headed out to the mall. Oh yes I did go back for my wallet! I used my $10 gc so my wallet was only $10. I then had Keith get the other gc with our shoe receipts. I felt like some kind of criminal even though we weren�t doing anything wrong. Before we had went into the mall we got out of our car and happened to look at our tire that always needs air � it was 90% flat! Luckily we have a little machine that hooks up to the car lighter and we can inflate the tire that way but it was still a pain in the butt especially standing outside in -30 weather waiting for it! After the mall business we headed over to Apple Bee�s for dinner. It was our first time. I gotta say I was pretty impressed. The service was amazing and the food was quite good � especially the dessert � omg � the fudge brownie dessert gives me shivers (the good ones) just thinking about it. I have a feeling that my weigh in this week is gonna be a bad one. BAD.

So what do you get when you have a pms�ing woman and a cranky tired man? Tears, slamming doors and no dinner that�s what. So yah last night could have been better. We did eventually make up but I hate it when we fight over nothing. I ended up eating dinner alone and cold as the hubby had to go to bed. The dinner wasn�t cold btw that was me. I now regret all those times I complained about our over heated apartment. Oh to even have a tenth of that heat right now. We�re going through an extreme cold snap and the wind is cutting through our thin walls like a hot knife through butter. I sat on our couch last night wearing a sweater, long johns under my fuzzy red pj pants and a scarf wrapped around my neck. I also swaddled myself in 3 blankets while I watched tv. In retrospect I should have went to the gym and warmed up but I was too chicken to venture out into the cold dark night.

This doesn�t seem like it�s gonna be a gym week either. Tonight I am going to try and hook up with T to check out a wedding venue. But if that falls through I will try and go to the gym. Cold snap be damned!

A�ight off to stuff my face�..with salad.

12:38 p.m. - 2007-02-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen