curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All about Mom and \"Stuff\"

It's hard to believe I only updated 2 days ago, it feels way longer than that. I guess that's what happens when you pack in so much in two days.

Part 1 - Mom Stuff

Well I had a wonderful visit with my mom. I could tear up just thinking about it. I am one person who does not take their family for granted - well at least I try not to.

On Wednesday my mom called me at work at 2:30 to tell me she had arrived - 2 to 3 hours earlier than planned! I called the hubby who luckily was home and told him mom was parked outside. I asked if he had cleaned the apartment and he was pretty non commital. I managed to get off work at 3 and on my walk home I was getting pissier and pissier at the prospect of coming home to a dirty apt with my mom there. I was planning how I would make the hubby understand how much it upset me that he didn't take the time to clean but rather goofed off.

I walked in the door to an exceptionally clean kitchen and while the rest of the apt needed a little work (she was after all early) the hubby had did an excellent job cleaning. My mom raved about the place she had been and how much she loved the walking paths. She finally hinted enough that I asked her if she wanted to go there and take a walk and since it was still gorgeous out we took advantage of the weather and timing and drove back to where she had just come from and spent the next few hours walking and talking. We stopped at home so I could change quickly back into regular non-sweaty clothes and then headed back out for our much anticipated dinner at Red Lobster. So Good! We then did a little pre shopping at a dollar store and then rented a movie (Music & Lyrics I am seriously going to get the soundtrack when it hits the bargain bins!). After the movie we managed to fit in one game of scrabble and by the time we hit the hay it was well after 1am. I had a terrible time falling asleep (too much caffeine in the d.coke I think).

8am came way too early but we had to get up as we had massages to get to. During my mom's massage I used the time wisely and practiced my b-dance routines in the waiting room (don't worry nobody was around). After our wonderful massages we headed towards the mall but first I drove my mom through mansionville - seriously these places make hotels look small! I want whatever jobs they have! After, we hit the mall but only made it to one store in the hour and a bit we shopped - we were crazy women and bought tons of linens for awesome clearance prices. We then needed substance so we headed off to lunch at the Mandarin. It was pretty good and we both left very full. I did feel bad thought right at the end of our meal Keith called to see what we were having for dinner (it was 2 o'clock) and I had to tell him we were just finishing lunch (at a place him and I had been wanting to try for a while). It was pretty neat though that while we were talking to him we got to watch him drive by in his work truck. And my mom was very sweet and on the way out got Keith a gc as an early birthday present.

After lunch we hit the mall for some more shopping and we both spent way too much both on necessities and frivolities (although my mom was better than I was - go figure). We had just enough time to rush home and for me to get changed and grab my belly dance stuff and head right back out the door to my performance at the old folks home. The performance went okay, we weren't allowed to use our canes for the 'cane dance' so we looked a bit foolish out there twirling nothing! But all in all I'd say we did pretty good. My mom really enjoyed watching. After a quick stop at the church we practice in, mom and I headed back home to have some R&R time. She watched Survivor with me (which was awesome btw!) and then we played a couple of games of scrabble (I won the last game!). We finally headed off to bed a little after midnight. I had this game plan to not reset my alarm clock - it was set for 7:50 not 6:50 my normal time. I would get to sleep an extra hour and then call my boss apologizing for having alarm 'issues'. But it was not to be as my mom was up at the crazy hour of 6am thus I was awake at that un-Godly hour as well. We had enough time to pack up the car, get us ready, grab some coffee, drop me off and get mom on the road home all before 8am! It was a full day before I even started work! I know I keep saying this but I had a wonderful visit with my mom. I wish we could have more days like this and I do not take for granted the time I have with her.

Part 2 - Other Stuff

As I may have mentioned I am a tad sleep deprived today. I was an emailing fiend today and most of the emails were of serious nature so when T made some flip comment about needing to go to AA someday soon I thought she was serious. It totally flew right over my head. I became Ms Concerned and was all in her business and trying to find out if she was saying what I thought she was. Turns out she wasn't! After about our 3rd email exchange suddenly it hit me DUH she had been making a joke. Lord I scare myself sometimes.

Speaking of emails I also was exchanging many emails with a local camping area that we've gone to the last few years on the May 2-4. It was getting kind of ridiculous cause we just couldn't seem to articulate what we were trying to say/ask. It was like this:

Me: "So the campsite she is the large big one yes?"

Ashley (the girl I was emailing back and forth with): "Yes, campsite is nice and small like you ask for".

We finally - finally - got it right and we should be in the same site we were last year. Although she did make a joke on her last email after I had said that if she's manning the gate the weekend we come she'll be sure to remember me! She said she wouldn't be there but would make sure to warn the people working - ha! She said she was kidding but I'm sure there's probably a little asterik next to my name!

Onto other non-camping news! I was kind of surprised to realize that I am going to be a busy little beaver for the remainder of May and now this is leaching into June as well! Rather than be annoyed by having no personal down time on the weekends I am embracing it. Winter is over! Spring is morphing into Summer tis the time for socializing and having fun. Just one request. Sleep. Not an excessive amount of sleep but enough to not make me feel like everything around me is happening in slo-mo!

Speaking of which I think it's just about time to call it a night. I came home from work pretty excited to finally spend some time with the hubby even it was just over dinner for an hour or two. Imagine my surprise as I walked into our apt to find the hubby fast asleep! I'm guessing he probably has to go into work early tonight - either that or he was very very sleepy.

Tomorrow is going to be a long day. T's mom is picking me up at 9 and we'll be spending our day at a belly dance work shop with a well known belly dancer from Mexico and then that evening will be our show. It will be my first workshop so I'm not sure what to expect. I went out tonight and did a little bitty bit of shopping for tomorrow. I picked up some water, a few snack food items (healthy, for energy) and also a couple of tank tops - one to practice in and another more bedazzeling top to dance in that night. I also picked up a pair of reebok capris that were on sale and that I love and of course will be wearing tomorrow during the workshop!

Alright that's enough. This entry is lengthy enough. Time to get my stuff ready for tomorrow and then head off for some much needed beauty sleep!

9:41 p.m. - 2007-05-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen