curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Long Weekend Recap

I woke up gung-ho to write this entry but after 5 times of restarting our computer the zest has worn off but rest assured I am going to persevere and trudge on until my zest returns!

So the weekend. The long weekend. The long weekend that I am technically still on! I'm back to work on Thursday and although that seems like a nice little break that I was worried about trying to fill out but now I am worried about it going too fast.

Anywho before I go crying into my kleenex let me tell you of my long weekend. We were a little worried about the weather as the forecast was pretty uncertain for the weekend on a whole.

Keith and I were the first to arrive at the campsite a little before 2 but before we could begin to unpack the car, S and her hubby drove up early as well. We set up our tents (Keith and I took a bit longer as the "Milton Hilton" as it was nicknamed by the group took us a while to figure out cause it was so huge and the instructions were in Greek. But we figured it out and then while waiting for everyone else to arrive we started the weekend off right and had a few jugs of a little concoction S's husband dreamed up called Electric Blue or some such title and man that stuff was good - a little too good.

By 6 that evening T had arrived - solo cause her hubby had to work - and our friends the married J's arrived as well. They won the award for tiniest tent. I have gotta take the time to figure out how to add pictures one of these days! We put a huge dent in the liquor supply that night. I had planned on just doing a little drinking to start the weekend off but that obviously wasn't the case. T and I were the last men standing which isn't a huge surprise. I think we called it a night about 1am.

Saturday was absolutely gorgeous. The sun was high in the sky and there was nary a cloud in sight. After bantering around a few suggestions of what to do we finally decided to head down to the canoes - and this is where the weekend sort of turned into a group a and group b thing. As all 7 of us headed off to walk down to the water area S and her man jumped in their car and drove there. Both are young, healthy and can walk but they chose to drive. Okay. So the remaining 5 of us made our way down there and several minutes later joined our lazy friends. The couples coupled up but Keith and I took T with us in ours which worked out to my advantage as I didn't have to paddle for half of our time on the water. For some reason while out on the water the other 2 canoes stuck together while ours sort of interacted with them only once in a while. When our hour was up we made it back to shore and were walking back to the building to return our lifejackets and oars. Group A was waiting for us by the front door and informed us that the lineup was huge thus they would all meet us back at camp and hopped in the car and left us. And so it began. T, Keith and I walked backed to camp via the back way so we took longer than normal. Group A welcomed us back and had put on the hibachi for us to cook on....for no reason except guilt since we weren't planning on cooking. Okay so you may have figured out by now that I'm a little bitter about the Group A and B thing. The lines just seemed to get more divided before they got better and it irked me to no end.

Later on in the afternoon we whipped out a game and tried to get people to play, I can't say I was surprised when only Group B played. We finally got Group A to play and S totally pissed me off by acting all 'Victorian' about the questions and as if she was offened by the content. We mercifully ended the game and finally the lines between Group A and B began to blur and we managed to come together and have fun. C and her man showed up around 8 for a few hours. During the time we lit off some of our fireworks and the last one went a little off track and started whizzing past us and our tents and made a small hole in one of the fly's. We stopped shooting them off then. Moments after C and her man left the rain began to come down. Everyone headed off to bed except Keith, T and I. Instead we took refuge in the Milton Hilton and continued the party in there. We learned that T has a gift that she has hidden from me for all the years I've known her. She gives excellent massages! With anyone else it would have seemed weird as for the next few hours we were cracking each other's backs and giving each other massages. Finally around 1am we called it a night and headed to bed.

Sunday dawned overcast and gloomy with a slight chill in the air. The other 2 couples or Group A were packed up and ready to go within 2 hours of waking. I was a little upset when I found out S was leaving as she had been talking about camping for weeks on end and they were cutting it short cause they had 'stuff' to do in the city. I say this sarcastically cause they are pretty much both unemployed. The real reason I imagine is that S's hubby ran out of his maryjane. After they all left the remaining 3 headed off to the showers where we had luke warm showers which was a 100% improvement from the day before in which there was zero hot water. After getting nice and clean and dressed in our warmest clothing we were ready to head into town! That was my idea cause I was jonesing for a coffee and not just any coffee a tim's! So we made the 10 minute drive into town, grabbed our coffee and maybe did a little run through a taco bell for lunch and headed back to camp.

The rest of the afternoon passed lazily as we read some, listened to the radio, had naps and eventually were warm enough to take off our sweaters. We did a little walking and tried to score out some fun people that we could party with that night. After a very decadent dinner of shrimp (made 3 different ways by the hubby) and baked potatos (donated by T) we cleaned up and moved to sit around the fire and begin our Tequila night! Did I forget to mention that we named our last night the Tequila night as Keith had never had it before and brought along our bottle. Keith surprised me by actually enjoying the taste of tequila (freak!). We made several drinks a few of which I didn't find repulsive. By the end of our night Keith was 3 sheets to the wind which was very funny cause he rarely gets intoxicated. I was the most sober as I had stopped drinking the vile concoctions early on. Getting Keith to bed was the biggest challenge as he was uber drunk and wasn't the most co-operative. Although once I did he was all about getting frisky which surprised the crap out of me as normally liquor has the opposite affect on him. An interesting night to the say the least! We never did find a fun party crowd instead we were our own fun party crowd and even shot off the rest of our fireworks without incident.

Monday dawned hot and beautiful (of course our last day!). We were in no rush to leave so we took a long time to pack up and leave. We didn't do our annual climb up the mountain this year. We normally do it on the last day but all 3 of us were feeling dirty and lazy and weren't up for the task.

All in all despite the divided groups I did have a good time. The 3 of us did notice that once it was just the 3 of us the atmosphere became much more relaxed. I don't really like what that means but there it is. I do know I am not impressed with how much S smoked this weekend. I don't care that people do it and I don't become offended I just hate the person it turns her in to. She just glazes over and looks like she passes out awake. Then she will ask the same questions over and over. Also she becomes the laziest person around (the canoe incident) and that bugs the crap out of me as she is not like that.

Alright I should wrap this up as it is now almost 11:30 and I got to get my booty in gear. I have half an hour walk ahead of me as I'm going to get our car and do some running around. Tomorrow's the hubby's birthday and he is working super long hours the next few days so I'm trying to make it special but quick. So I must take a shower, make a list and get going. I'm hoping if I get all my running around done today I can enjoy the steamy hot temps they are predicting for tomorrow outside on my deck!

Maybe a pina colado or two....I have to rev back up for this coming weekend as I'm heading to Niagara Falls for a bachlorette party. No rest for the wicked I tell ya! Bottoms Up.

9:27 a.m. - 2007-05-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen