curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And this is how I know I'm old....

The problem with staying up late all weekend is trying to convince your body on Sunday night that, yes, really you want it to go to bed by 11pm. It just laughs at you and wants to know what you're going to do 'now'. So yah I'm far from tired right now.

So the mystery of the disappearing T was solved Saturday morning when I called her house at 11 (when I got up). She was in her car when she called me but after hanging up she sat there debating about whether or not she should drive since she had been drinking at dinner. Her guy eventually called to apologize and she went back into her house obviously forgetting to call me and cancel! No biggie. Although we did make plans for later that night and not for that afternoon cause I figured she'd be too busy getting ready for her company only to find out later she went out with another friend for a few drinks. I don't know who she thinks she is, thinking she's allowed to have more friends than just moi! The nerve!

So yah my Saturday was spent wasting away the morning bemoaning the fact that my vcr went wonky and didn't tape Veronica Mars (I am WAY too into this show). I missed the season finale of Grey's and I didn't skip a beat! I have Desperate H'wives finale on tape and still haven't watched it! The good news is I found out it was playing the same episode again at 4am so I gave my vcr a stern talking to and reset it to tape at that time (and I am happy to report it did).

After that fun I finally decided to go out and enjoy the immense humidity. I grabbed my book and tried to relax on my hammock but for some reason I just couldn't concentrate so it wasn't so much relaxing as getting up about 50 times and running in and out of the house. The hubby finally got home around 3 and around 4 we headed out to run some errands (dollarstore, foodstore and boozestore). We were back by 6 at which time we had a scrumptious meal of steak (our side being couscous cause we were desperate). Finally around 9 I told Keith I was going to start drinking (I wasn't sure if we were going to T's or vica versa). T was supposed to call after her company left but it was getting a little late. As I mixed my first drink I called T who confirmed that she was coming over but was leaving behind a pissy man. Once she got here I offered for all of us to go over to her place so her guy could be included but since he was going to bed rather soonish to get up for 5am she nixed that idea.

So instead we drank outside on our deck for the rest of the evening chatting and having a pretty good time. At 12:30 we (finally) decided to head to the bar. We quicky got ready and the 3 of us headed out the door to walk the short distance (this was Keith's first time at the country bar). We got there a few minutes before 1am and the place was packed! The live band was sucking out loud (hi, if you're a country band than play some damn country music!). Finally they left and the dj took over so the songs were bearable and T and I were able to dance! I think I might have found my new drink at the bar - a tom collins. I didn't actually have one but I sipped T's and it was pretty dang good. I'm not sure why I was surprised when what seemed like moments later we were told they were playing the last song (a slow one of course that T and I danced to - Keith's not a dancer). We were only there an hour but it sure flew by!

We all stumbled home and eventually stumbled off to bed around 4am. I felt like I could have slept the day away but instead got up at 11. Keith had been up since 9 (freak) and by noon we decided to wake T.

Somehow I remember our conversation from the night before regarding going to a local fair. I convinced Keith and T to go and off we went after about a 2 hour delay (showering, changing, dog walking, errands etc).

The fair was sad to say pretty lame - some things we should leave in our childhood I guess. But I persevered - mostly cause someone gave us 10 free tickets as we walked into the fair grounds. There were only a few adult rides - all twirly of course. T wanted me to go on the Cobra and as we went to go on we found out that Keith couldn't ride alone so I bowed out (thankfully cause that ride made my stomach churn just watching them!). Afterwards I went on the Spider by myself and almost brought up my lunch by the time the ride stopped. The man had neglected to take my tickets so we still had 4 left. We walked around and I played a darts game and as the guy was giving me a teddybear he noticed it was ripped so he was trying to find anothe one just like it. It was then that a big guy came in and said that no in fact the small teddybear he was giving me was a 'large' prize and I had only won a 'small'. I then asked if I could have the ripped one since that's the one the first guy was going to give me anyway and Tubs wasn't budging and no in fact I had to take the dirty flower he was holding out. I told him no cause it was dirty so he handed me an even smaller and uglier teddybear. It was there that my love of fairs was shattered forever. The carney's had won. It was no longer the fun place I had remembered it as. I got my obligatory candy apple and on the way out we were deciding what to do with the 4 tickets so we put them in the bears hands and left the bear beside the front gate hoping someone would find a good use for both. Pay it forward and all that.

Afterwards we hit the army surplus store where somehow Keith and I spent $70. Then we decided to head back to T's to swim for a bit but of course we had to make a million pit stops and when all was said and done by the time we got to her pool it was after 6pm and it began to rain. Not to be deterred from my first swim of the year I gamely hopped into the pool and instantly felt my muscles seize (good times). T joined me for a few minutes and then we came to our senses and got out. After drying off and changing Keith and I headed off so T and her guy could finally have some alone time (well as alone as they can get with his mom living with them).

And that leads us up until about a few hours ago at which time the hubby and I made dinner and watched a movie and then went to bed (one of us anyway). Beside the disallusionment with the fair I had a pretty good time this weekend. And, no, I won't be cutting out fairs from my life, the best one is in September up at my parent's. It always falls on my b-day weekend and we always have to go and watch the car derby and eat bad fair food and watch the kids go on rides and maybe go on one or two with them (that fair I will always love for those reasons).

Alright I think I am finally sleepy enough to try and give it another shot (plus the AC is on in the bedroom and I'm a starting to sweat sitting out here!). Toodles.

11:24 p.m. - 2007-06-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen