curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Vacay Recap - Part 1

And I'm back! A week off does a girl wonders. Seriously it feels like I've been away for weeks! It helps that I have one more vacation day to go, so let me get back to you on Wednesday after I put in a days work at the old salt mines.

So let me see if I can do a little recap of the vacay. Keith and I finally got away a little after 1 on Sunday which wasn't too off the mark so I was happy. We arrived in W@saga Beach without too much trouble. The place we stayed at had 7 cabins and most of them were tiny. Ours was one of the few cabins that had a 3 piece bath in them (shower, sink and toilet). The cabin was small but it suited our needs.

We settled in and then headed across the street to the beach (yes across the street - very sweet). We walked what seemed like miles and then on the walk back I was brave enough to go for a dip (I can't say no to swimming!). We changed and headed out for dinner at a place that turned out to be our favourite haunt the 4 days we were there (Banana Cabana or some cute name like that). It was on the 2nd floor of a building and overlooked the beach and the seating was outside. To sit there and watch the sunset was a glorious time indeed. We eventually wandered back to our cabin and started our nightly tradition of watching an episode or two of the Greatest American Hero box set that I bought Keith for his b-day. We brought our portable dvd player as the cabin was quite rustic.

The night was the start of my many sleepless nights. It wasn't that I couldn't sleep it was just that I was constantly waking up throughout the night thus it felt like I didn't sleep - this happened all throughout our vacation.

Monday we did the beach thing and I did a whole bunch of swimming and chillaxin' on the beach. Although we were a little disappointed in the swimming aspect of the beach. Although it was big and sandy you had to walk out for miles to get to half decent deep water and the water was freezing cold the farther out you went so by the time you got to mid thigh depth it was too cold to dip! Wusses I know.

Tuesday we started the day off with more shopping (food) and then back to the cabin for a bbq'd lunch followed by some more beach time. Luckily I had brought along a cheap $3 beach umbrella that I bought on impulse a few weeks ago. This umbrella was very useful to shield us from the hot hot sun. We eventually got snacky so we headed to our favourite haunt and discovered Keith's new favourite food - papafrites - waffle fries covered in cheese, tomatoe, onion and some other stuff. They came in a huge basket and were delicious! We eventually wandered back to the cabin, cleaned up and played a little scrabble outdoors amongst the owners kids (ages 6 and 3) who loved to ask tons of questions! We eventually made ourselves dinner but before heading in sat outside on the dock for a while and just chatted (this was one of my favourite parts of the trip).

Tuesday we walked down the strip to a cool gift shop (I bought a shirt and a key chain) and then we played a game of mini putt (we tied). By this time the sun had started to blaze and we knew it was going to be a hot day. We headed back to the cabins ate some lunch and then I headed to the beach while the hubby had a little nap (this time the cool waters didn't bother me all that much!). The hubby eventually joined me and we stayed a while longer and then eventually went back to the cabin to clean up and take an unplanned nap. Once up we got spruced up and went out for dinner at you guessed it our favourite place! Yah we pretty much lived there the whole trip! Good food, good prices and amazing view! The sky was crazy hazy so the sunset was subdued but still beautiful. We made it back to the cabin, watched an episode of our show and then called it a night. This was the only night that was almost too hot to sleep - thank goodness for the small fan that was in the room!

Wednesday - hump day - lived up to it's name as the hubby and I had a bit of a falling out on this day. We were both sore and cranky from our crappy cabin bed. I was pretty bummed at the beach and the hubby made an effort to smooth things between us so we both smartened up and played nice once again. I even got the hubby in the water to play with our water frisbee for about half an hour. Around 1 we headed back to the cabin, cleaned up, packed the car and got back on the road headed towards my parents.

We made it to my parents in really good time and had a very nice evening even though it was hot and my mom refused to put on their central air (it's a family joke now how my mom loves to open windows and feel the 'breeze' even if there isn't one!).

Thursday we got away a bit later than we had figured since we played a last game of scrabble that took quite a while and then had to run downtown and buy a few things before heading out. We had an ice-t incident through a drive thru on the way to Kingston, it put the hubby in a bit of a mood for a while. But eventually we arrived at our hotel which turned out to be a very nice place (one of the nicest I've ever stayed) and things picked up once again. We had been upgraded for free to a room with a jacuzzi tub and we both took advantage of it quite a bit. After some fun tub times and other adult fun times we got dolled up and headed downstairs to the in house restaurant and had an amazing meal. The food was great and the atmosphere even better. It was just a wonderful time. I made the mistake of getting dessert even though I was full so I only had a bite or two and had to take the rest to go. We were going to take a dip in the pool but my brother called (he had been out at his school's graduation) and we headed over there for a visit instead.

Okay this is getting long so I'm gonna end this here and finish the rest later.

7:42 p.m. - 2007-07-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen