curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And now for the second part....

Part Deux - finally.

But before I start reminiscing let me live in the moment for a bit. I parked the car out front of the house so I would be forced to go to the gym tonight as planned. It's now 10 o'clock and I just got back....from moving the car to our lot! My bad. But I really did have good intentions not only did I spend time with the hubby but I also am having a wee bit of tummy troubles. Not sure what's up with that the only thing I can think of is that my tummy got used to 'bad' food and now it's been overwhelmed with 'proper' food and it's um rebelling? I finally admitted defeat and chugged some pink stuff. Anywho back to the recap shall we?

So after a nice visit with my brother Thursday night Keith and I headed back to our hotel around 11 cause all of us were bushed. I didn't sleep all that great and I'm guessing it's due to the coffee I had with dinner (doh). But we were up fairly early and we both had another soak in the jacuzzi tub before heading down to the pool for a quick swim (stupid slide was closed!). After our swim we checked out and headed over to my bro and sil's apartment. We spent the afternoon waiting for my brother to rtn from his last day of school (only teachers had to show up). After he arrived home we all headed out and played some mini putt and hit some balls in a cage (I'd never done that before so that was kinda cool). That evening we stayed for the drive in and saw Evan @lmighty and KnockedUp. Two very different comedies. We were all super tired after the movies but had to stop quickly at a 24 hour grocery store before heading home and going directly to bed as we were back up in under 7 hours!

It was a little tiring but our plans for the day propelled me. We were going to do a boat tour of the 1000 Islands - a 5 hour boat tour! It seems long but it went really quick. The ride over was kinda cold but I had brought my sweater. Unfortunately my sil hadn't and was so cold that I gave her my sweater to put over her t-shirt and vest while I just had on my light tank top - yes I am a gem.

The tour stopped halfway at a Castle and we got to explore inside which was very cool. We took tons of picutres. I kept hinting to the hubby that I would love a new digital camera for my b-day that is a lot faster and takes WAY more pictures - mine does about 160 but everyone else who has a more current camera takes about 500! It would be nice not to have to wipe the card so often. Anywho!

After our boat tour we were all so tired but there was to be no rest. We had to rush home and get ready to head out to a bbq and a campfire at a teacher/friend of my brother's. It is still so strange to hang out with teachers! I'm in awe of their stories since I've only ever been on the other side.

The bbq went well except it had rained buckets all day so by the time it was late enough for a campfire we were all to cozy to go outside (it had stopped raining by then) and decided to stay inside in the sunporch doing a little drinking and singing as my brother played his guitar. We called it a night around midnight and headed home for some much needed sleep.

Sunday we all slept in and then in early afternoon headed downtown for the CANADA DAY festival! We toured some booths (I was on the only one to buy anything - a silver ring for $7) and then headed to a restaurant for an early dinner which turned out to be an excellent idea as the place was packed to the gills within half an hour of us being there and never slowed down for the rest of the night.

We spent the next few hours doing a whole lot of nuthin'. We chose a spot to watch the fireworks and for some reason thought it was sane to sit there until it started - in 4 hours! We did break it up by taking mini walks - my brother and I killed about 2 hours by going to find the car a few blocks away. We got lost. He lives there I don't so I didn't feel too bad! It was pretty fun though we just kept wandering the same blocks over and over! We eventually found the car, got our stuff and then headed to the tim's to wait in line for another 45 minutes - insane!

Eventually the fireworks happeneed (a wee bit anticlimatic after waiting the whole time). Although really a damper had been put on them about 15 minutes before they were about to start. My sil told me that she and my bro thought they had seen J walk by. For some reason this unnerved me. I didn't need him coming over and putting a damper on our evening. He never did but it sort of ruined the fireworks just a little bit for me. Afterwards we headed home asap and managed to stay awake until midnight before heading to bed.

Monday was home time. We were supposed to leave relatively early (9am) as per the hubby's wishes but we didn't leave until 12 - due to the hubby playing videogames with my brother all morning! Once on the road we came to a standstill within an hour of being on the road - we sat in traffic for about an hour and then it finally started to move and eventually we made it home by 4:30! Home sweet home.

I should mention that during our Canada Day outing we all wore matching hats that Keith and I had picked up for $1.25 each while at my parents. The hats were a HUGE hit! We got tons of stares and people even took our picture as well as endless comments! It was very cool. The hats rocked!

The hubby and I are hopefully heading into T dot this Saturday to catch some more fireworks. These ones are supposed to be really good. I'm hoping it pans out. Well it's almost 10:30 and I got a book to read before bed - it's great when you find a book to read that you can't put down but at the same time it sucks cause you don't want to go to bed. Argh. Nite.

9:58 p.m. - 2007-07-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen