curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Finally! The house entry!

You know I really should be heading to bed but I've been jonesing all week to write an entry. The sad thing is I don't really have anything interesting to say I just miss posting everyday and for some reason I feel that my next entry MUST be about the whole house thing that I keep promising to write about. I know no one out there is holding their breath but I really should document this time in my life cause it will be nice to look back on it and read all about the choas.

So without further ado I give you my house entry!!!!

Well as I predicted I was totally unprepared for our move. Not only did I spend all night and some hours into the wee morning packing up our apartment but I awoke way too early with a head cold! I still had way more to pack but all I wanted to do was crawl into a corner and rest my weary head. Just before noon my older brother, his wife and their 3 kids along with a friend of ours, Teve, showed up. We had a quick bite to eat - they brought sandwiches - and then we got started on the moving. My family were workhorses - they were amazing! They were up and down 3 flights of stairs countless times without one complaint! About an hour later 3 members of Keith's family showed up (his married sister and her husband and the baby of his family his brother). His mom was also there but since she couldn't lift anything she 'supervised'. We seemed to be making great progress but then we got to the 'stairwell' of horror. That stairwell held mucho boxes and an assortment of crap. We were supposed to also take the tv out thru that stairwell but it would not fit - the tv was too big! How did they get it out you ask? Over the side of the house! Yup they lowered the tv with ropes over the side of our deck! It was totally nail biting - but of course I took pics the whole time! 4 hours later we were finally done and heading over to the new house. I had left first with Teve and my niece on a beer and liquor run (family's expensive!). By the time we got to the house most of the truck was unloaded - it took less than an hour to unload the whole truck as the ramp fit nice and snug onto our front porch so everything could be walked off right into our house - very sweet!

After the unloading I ordered a butt load of pizza and every morsel of food was consumed in record time! Keith's other sister and her guy showed up as well as T but all the work had been done so they just got to sit around and shoot the breeze with everyone. Finally everyone started to leave and when his mom who was the last to leave looked at her watch and said it was 9 o'clock I nearly wept as it felt like it was well past midnight I was so bone weary tired! Luckily we had very nice people who put our bed together so we found our sheets and comforter and immediately went to bed. I wish I could say sleep came easily but it didn't as I was so sore I had to get up and take some pills to ease the aches in my bones.

The next few days were a flurry of unpacking but we seemed to spend more time running errands than anything else. Unfortunately there is still quite a bit of stuff left at our apartment. Not big items but small annoying items plus a HUGE amount of cleaning. We have been there at least a dozen times since the move and each time we leave with a car load of stuff but still...it never seems to get any better! I am so glad we kept the apartment for the month of October or we would have been screwed!

Since our move Keith has been off and has been slowly setting up the house - emphasis on slowly! He has also been my chaffeur to and from work which has been very sweet - but not to him!

We were in the house less then a week and we had our first thanksgiving here. It went very well. Keith made the whole meal himself. The day was amazingly hot - too hot actually! We spent most of the day outside. The only time we were all in the house was during the half hour we ate - the rest of the time people wandered in and out the whole day. This is very important. You see as everyone was leaving around 8pm his sister and her fiance noticed that their laptop was missing from their vehicle. Their brand new 5 hour old laptop! Granted they didn't lock their vehicle but it was parked in our driveway! Keith and I were thinking that they may have been followed from the store when they came to our place. It happens. Otherwise we have some very ballsy and stupid neighbours!

Okay it is now 11pm so I gotta wrap this up. Today for the first time our house is feeling like a 'real' house. The furniture we ordered arrived today and looks amazing in our living room. The living room looks cozy and inviting. Once we get curtains (just sheers right now) it will look complete!

On top of that we just spent more money and bought ourselves a car today! We have been looking all week and let me tell you it was not fun. We found a few cars and T's guy looked at them for us and told us not to get them. He gave us pointers of what to look for. We started to look at private sellers and found one that sounded really good almost too good. I emailed her and the next morning she replied and we went and viewed the car last night. The car is in excellent condition. It's a 2002 blue grand prix with only 79k's on it - very sweet! We checked it over front to end and took it for a test drive where it performed great. We went back tonight after work and made an offer. Sadly we didn't talk them down any money as the car is already a good deal and her hubby is kind of mad she is selling it as it's an excellent car and she's put quite a bit of money into it. But barring any unforseen circumstances Saturday morning that car will be ours!!!!

A'ight the hubby came out looking for me - now I must pop a few pills (sore sore sore from belly dancing!) and head to bed. Tomorrow is Friday! Awesome!!

10:36 p.m. - 2007-10-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen