curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Let's carve a pumpkin!

Okay so I gave myself half an hour to be on the laptop tonight - 45 minutes tops. That was at 6:45. My bad. My very bad. BUT in my defense a huge chunk of that time was spent learning all about Nanowrimo. I have heard about this thing every year from different d-land writers who participated but had no idea what the heck it was. Finally yesterday I stumbled across it and today really got a chance today to dig into it. So I signed up. This is huge but it made sense. Here I was talking yesterday about being involved in other people's dramas and how I needed to read a good book. Well instead of reading I will be writing one! Yah it's a huge jump and I'm not saying this is gonna be easy or even good for that matter but it's got my blood fired up and I am tons of excited about it. But mostly nervous. I've never done anything like this before. I have dabbled in writing and even have a mostly finished novel - well it's done except for the revisions but I did that about hmmm I guess 10 years ago so yah it's majorly outdated but I did it. And so I'm excited to try this again. Wish me luck! If nothing else it will keep me busy and not on FB everynight with my ex's lovelife dramas to keep me entertained. So there you have it.

I spent hours tonight reading the background to NaNoWriMo (gawd writing that is so awkward). I just minutes ago signed up. Now I should technically log off this dang laptop and do something productive. But when have I ever done the right thing? Exactly!

First things first. I am sitting in a different spot on the couch so as not to make a permanent butt groove in our new couches.

Last night after logging off and eventually getting to bed at 11 I managed to lie awake for the next 2 hours. It was very frustrating. Needless to say getting up this morning with my alarm was most unpleasant. I arrived at work tired and pissy cause it wasn't my Friday just plain old Thursday.

I soon found out that it was in fact my Friday. My co-worker no longer needed part of Friday off thus it was all mine again. Of course now I had to get creative as I was a wee bit devious with my boss Wednesday before leaving. I had sent her an email saying that I had no problem switching my flex day to Monday (she had said in an email that I couldn't have that day but I didn't have access to my email at reception). So this morning I sent her an email saying "whoops just got your email now regarding no Monday so I will take another day instead". I let a few minutes pass and then sent her another email saying I just found out that my co-worker didn't need the day off after all thus I was back to having Friday off. All this is very trivial and I didn't have to send those emails but I decided to pick my battles and today wasn't a day to do battle over something that didn't need to be fought for. Confusing? Um yah but I'm tired - so there.

The day zoomed by quite nicely and I even managed to get quite a bit of work done. I had these grand plans for tomorrow regarding our apartment and moving stuff but the hubby dashed those cause he had come up with plans of his own - gotta love when 2 people work opposite shifts and don't have time to communicate with each other.

Once home from work I had a surprise waiting for me. The hubby hung the curtains I had bought last week. We bought the rod on Tuesday when the hubby got a notion to head to the big W. He bought nothing. I bought $80 worth of stuff. The rod looks amazing in our living room (it's amazing how details like these matter to me now!). The curtains I'm still working on. I bought a couple different kinds since I knew I could return what I didn't like. The hubby not knowing my intent hung the 2 different patterns together. Silly man. But that's okay tomorrow we will take it down and I shall play with them some more. I can't believe I can get this excited about hanging curtains!

So tomorrow is gearing up to be a busy day. While the hubby is 'prepping' the basement (after getting home from work at 10am) for painting I shall be emptying the box room to make it fit for company tomorrow night. Then once the hubby is done prepping I shall paint the basement. Then it's on to a million other things including cleaning and shopping and general organization. A fun filled busy day but at least I'm not at work!

I found out some very good news today. My boss will not be back into the office till at least Nov 12! Heehaw! 2 weeks of a relaxed atmosphere - saweeet.

I had a crappy dinner tonight - just changing that topic out of the blue eh? I have been very good this week and haven't eaten out once. Tonight the hubby - again - didn't make me dinner so I grabbed a piece of frozen 'healthy' fish and some perogies with some green beens to fill the veggie quota. As I opened our sour cream container I was met with green. Yup it had mold. I did the little taste test - on the stuff that wasn't green silly and it had that gross taste so in the trash it went - okay so it's on the counter but it's one step closer to the garbage! Then I decided to have some tomato juice with dinner, only to find out it too had a funky taste - it's been open in the fridge a week or so now. Not a very filling dinner if I do say so myself. The nutella I had for dessert helped though. I may be addicted to that stuff.

Well I think I may have rambled on long enough. I think I may clean up a little after myself and then quiety crawl into bed beside the hubby. Here's to an excellent nights sleep and a productive and fun filled weekend (for all)!

8:59 p.m. - 2007-10-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen