curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Early Bird Entry

I'm tired. Do you see the time of this entry? Yah it's correct. The hubby and I are starting a new routine. As of today I go back to 'regular' hours for a week (8:30 - 4:30) then a few weeks back on my flex hours (8:00 - 4:35) and then the rest of December on regular hours. But that's not the routine I'm referring to. The hubby got asked to work a few hours each night on the weeks he's not driving. He goes in for midnight. So no longer can I lounge in bed when my alarm goes off and listen to the radio and procrastinate in getting ready. Now I have to jump out of bed and tip toe out of the room where I shower and get dressed in a spare room (leaving clothes out the night before). Oh this should get interesting. So rather than sleep that extra half hour in the mornings I decided I would get up and exercise. Sounds like a plan doesn't it? Well I did get up and I even got dressed into my super duper nifty workout clothes that I love then I nearly killed myself working out to a boxing type dvd. Memo to self: don't just start these things gung-ho - remember you're stiff as a board from lack of inactivity - and no, belly dancing one night a week doesn't count!

So yah I gotta ease up on myself. Well I got 5 minutes then I got to jump in the shower.

I spoke to my brother last night - he's out of the hospital! The surgeon who released him said he's a really good healer and could go home as long as he takes it easy for the rest of the week and keeps taking his medication and has a low fiber diet. He sounded really good - like his old self. Thank God.

So this owning a house is expensive! I'm sure everyone out there is laughing at me for stating the obvious. But yah. Wow. It's not so much the mortgage - although when it doubles what you paid in rent that's pretty interesting. It's all the other stuff. It's the furniture we bought (don't pay for a year but really you save up that money NOW). It's the second car we had to buy with my line of credit. And it's the hubby's taxes coming up in April (usually a few grand at least). Plus all the other bills on top of that. I'm not regretting buying the house don't get me wrong it's just disheartening to watch your bank account spiral downwards. With the hubby working a few hours a night it should help quite a bit just with every day purchases. The thing is even with not working those few hours a night and not working for weeks he still makes more than he did last year working week in and week out. Crazy.

I never did finish my long weekend entry. The second part consisted of us going to the Falls and trying to stay within budget. The hotel room kind of pushed us over. Taxes, parking all that good stuff that's 'extra'. But we actually did really good in my opinion. I kept the money we had rolled and exchanged at the bank seperate from my wallet and only paid out of that. We got to the Falls way earlier than check in time but were still able to check into our room right away which was sweet. Then after enjoying our view for a while we headed out on a walk and just sort of walked down to the strip and wandered around. We saw horse drawn carriages and decided to check out the price since we've always wanted to ride in one but could never justify the cost. It was pretty pricy but we figured it was the best time to try it so we shelled out the $40 for about 15 minutes. It was pretty awesome. The weather was chilly but sunny and it was just cool. Our horse was named Obi (as in Star Wars). The lady was super nice too.

After that we walked back to the hotel - stopping for a snack at DQ cause we were both starving but wouldn't be eating dinner for a few more hours. Once back to the hotel we got into our swim gear and headed to the pool. Since it was around 5 on a Sunday it was pretty quiet which was very nice. The waterslide was open so that was pretty cool. We spent a while down there and then eventually headed upstairs to chillax for a while and then eventually head out to our favourite dining place in the Falls. My seafood pasta was Amazing! The hubby was surprised when I didn't eat it all. I left some pasta cause I was full and didn't want to stuff myself cause I hate that feeling. See I'm learning!

We then drove along the strip to see the Festival of Lights which were absolutely stunning! The pictures I took didn't do it justice. I drove one way and the hubby drove when we turned around. At the very end it started to rain which was pretty good timing. We headed back to the hotel and called it a night. The hubby fell asleep fairly early while I took advantage of the jet tub and rested my old bones.

Monday we checked out after a swim and some hot tubbin' and then headed to the Bird Conservatory place. Keith loves it. We took a ton of pictures and then bought the 'official' picture of us feeding these birds - they were all over me and I was pretty freaked out but the picture is a cute one.

After we left there we decided to get some lunch but couldn't figure out where to go. We finally ended up at the UFO saucer place which I've been to only for breakfast but is really cool. The food was really good and we left there with full tummies and headed for our long drive back (not that long).

So all in all it was a very good weekend - well except for that phone call from dad about my brother - I could have done without that.

Whoops it's 7:48 I gotta bust my butt to get out of here by 8:10. Later!

7:29 a.m. - 2007-11-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen