curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A senseless tragedy

I want to write but the words won't come. I am hitting delete more than anything else. A tragedy occured last week to someone that I never met but who I knew of. I worked with her mom. This young woman 33 years of age was killed in her home by her husband. Like I said, I never met her. I knew of her, and was told stories about her by her mom. Step mom actually but I knew she loved her more than anything. I don't know the details surrounding her murder. I know she's been married a little over a year and has a 8 month old son. Maybe that's why I have been hit so hard by this news - besides knowing her mother. My nephew is 8 months old and I watch how his little face lights up when his mom walks into a room. How she is the only one who is guaranteed to get a smile from him. The one who comforts him when no else can. This is something this little boy now will never have and it breaks my heart. I watched a news clip earlier of her funeral (she was a paramedic so it got more airtime than another senseless tragedy would) and it just hammers home how sad and senseless a tragedy this was.

This tragedy has also made me look at everything else in a different light. I learned that my flex day was cancelled - our plan did not get approval. Now don't get me wrong I got upset but then I reeled myself in. How bad is this really? It sucks yes but...I'm alive. I could go on but you get the drift. I know this phase will end and I will begin to get upset over things that are not worth my anger. But right now, I can't help but just be thankful for everything I have in my life. Everything.

9:46 p.m. - 2010-10-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

old-story
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
wthglwnghrts
witty-remark
noaddedme
ladybug-red
take-two
windsorblu
catsoul
haloaskew
neko-carre
kungfukitten
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen