curious-me's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Life.....in a heartbeat

I was going to write an entry about my thoughts on turning 42 but that is going to have to wait. Two days in a row I have got dressed for work only to not go in. All week I have been feeling like crap. It turns out that it's not allergies I have it's a cold. I think I did start out with basic allergies and then somehow got the cold. Monday I went into work with a banging headache but stayed the whole day. Tuesday I got up, showered, dressed, made my lunch and got into my car the whole time feeling utterly miserable and with that throbbing headache. I finally smartened up and called in sick.

This morning I felt better not 100% and I was oh so tired but well enough to go to work. I was just opening the door to leave when the phone rang long distance. It was my sil she called to tell me my dad had a heart attack and was in the hospital. The day from there took on that unreal quality. I am SO thankful it was Keith's day off because looking back I'm not sure how well I would have done driving myself the 3 hour drive. We made it in 2.5 so he went a little above the speed limit. As I told Keith later the only way to get thru the drive was not think about it - or anything - I sort of went numb and just sat quietly staring out the window. If I spoke about it (like when I called my manager that morning) I would break down.

Turns out my dad was short of breath and had pains throughout the night and didn't sleep. At 5am he got up and drove himself to the hospital 5 minutes away. They admitted him and then within an hour or so sped him away to another hospital. My mom only broke down a bit when they sent my dad off for tests and maybe surgery. We went to the cafeteria where I made her eat half a sandwich (she ate a quarter) but when she went to say grace her voice broke and we all got teary eyed. She's an amazingly strong woman.

They put a stint in my dad his second I believe. His situation is a bit tricky as he only has one kidney and it's not doing what it should all of the time. When we left him he was exhausted and nodding off which he needed to do. Now he will be staying in the hospital ICU for a few days to make sure everything is okay.

It is hard being so far away from my family. But I know my brothers are with her and if they need me I am a drive away and wouldn't hesitate to get back into the car right this second and go back.

Tomorrow is my birthday. I told my dad the best birthday gift I could ever get was him getting better and that is the God's honest truth. Life is precious. Family is precious. Sometimes it's easy to forget these things or take them for granted. Right now. Right this minute. I don't.

8:12 p.m. - 2016-09-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

igotsprung
happyone
hitch-hike
In 19 Seconds
fullmoon
dulligirl
looniebin
kungfukitten
barefootruby
haloaskew
catsoul
neko-carre
rdhdprincess
razor-vixen